Home Data Warehousing Why you need a data warehouse: definition, architecture and advantages

Why you need a data warehouse: definition, architecture and benefits

What is a data warehouse (chapter 1), how is it structured (chapter 2) and why do I need a data warehouse as an organisation (chapter 3)? These questions are answered in the following knowledge article.

Table of contents

1. What is a data warehouse?

1.1 Definition of data warehouse

"A data warehouse is a subject-oriented, integrated, time-period-related, and non-volatile set of data to support management's decision-making, planning, and controlling processes". (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 14)

Data warehousing can be seen as one of the most important components of business intelligence. It is understood to be the entire process that is carried out in a data warehouse. The individual steps of this process are described below:

  1. The process starts with data collection, which is based on external as well as internal sources of a company.
  2. This is followed by data preparation and the subsequent data transformation.
  3. Finally, the processed and transformed data is stored in the data warehouse - data storage. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 11)
 

These process steps suggest that the process basically only describes the database maintenance of collected data. However, this assumption is far from the truth: reality shows that this broad process consists of many individual processes that require an enormous amount of work. An example of this is the ETL process (Extraction, Transformation and Loading), which describes how the data assigned to the various departments is transferred to the data warehouse and linked together. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 11-12)

 

A detailed description of the characteristics of a data warehouse as well as the term "cloud computing" can be found in this Wiki article.

 

1.2 Where does the idea of the data warehouse come from?

Historically, the term data warehouse first appeared in 1988. Barry A. Delvin and Paul T. Murphy were the first to describe the use of a central location for data collection. (Köppen, 2014)

In IBM's "Systems Journal", they described that due to the advancing use of IT systems in companies, the need arose to be able to access the company data stored in the respective systems. Based on this need, it was evident that an architecture or a system was necessary that would bring together the collected company data from the various IT applications and enable uniform access to it. On almost 20 pages, Delvin and Murphy (1988) presented the specially constructed EBIS. The E stands for the abbreviations of the regions Europe (E), Middle East (ME) and Africa (A) and the letters BIS stand for Business Information System. This system, developed internally by IBM, was intended to make it possible for the first time to bring together IT data from the various regions and is thus regarded as the first example of a data warehouse system. (Devlin & Murphy, 1988, p. 60)

2. How is a data warehouse structured?

There are various requirements for a data warehouse, which can vary greatly depending on the industry and company. Therefore, there is no fixed architecture for a data warehouse. In the course of time, the structures of data warehouses have therefore changed again and again and different modelling variants have emerged that describe the architecture of a data warehouse. (Hahne, 2014)

In many companies, data warehouse concepts did historically not emerge based on a proactive plan towards the implementation of business intelligence. Instead, they emerged in the course of the ongoing development of IT system landscapes in the respective companies. When setting up a data warehouse, there are various technical as well as business aspects that need to be considered. It is therefore advantageous if the architecture of a data warehouse is planned and thought through from the ground up. This structured approach provides advantages in the further course, both in the use and in the further development of the data warehouse. (Gluchowski, 2021)

Due to the advantages of a structured architecture for a data warehouse, a basic structure of a data warehouse is presented below. Subsequently, some examples of different architecture variants are presented.

Figure 1: Architecture of a data warehouse (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 19)
Figure 1: Architecture of a data warehouse (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 19)

Figure 1 shows the basic structure and necessary components of a data warehouse. Both the data from the various sources (Figure 1, area 1) and the ETL processes that load the various data into the 3rd area and the data warehouse (core data warehouse) shown here are included in the overall concept of a data warehouse. The basic concept of a data warehouse also includes the provision of data from the core data warehouse for the creation of data analyses and reports. (Müller & Lenz, 2013)

The following five best-known modeling variants are described in more detail:

  • Independent Data Marts - Stove Pipe

  • Data Marts with common dimensions

  • Dependent Data Marts - Hub and Spoke

  • Federated architectures

  • Data warehouse layer architecture

2.1 Independent Data Marts - Stove Pipe

The first modeling variant of the architecture of a data warehouse is referred to as 'independent data marts'. This describes the case when individual departments in a company begin to build their own business intelligence solutions. Such an approach results in each department building its own data mart. Thus, from the company's point of view, the core data warehouse consists of several departmental data marts that are independent of each other. This modeling variant is to be seen as a negative example, since in this case there is no "single point of truth" in the company that represents the common data truth. This is due to the fact that the data in the respective data marts is divided into different dimensions and is also labeled differently. As a result, the data from the respective departments cannot be compared with each other and, in addition, a separate ETL process must be created for each department or data mart. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 21)

2.2 Data Marts with common dimensions

In another modeling variant, the data marts are connected to each other via common dimensions. This ensures that the individual data marts are no longer independent of each other. This makes it possible to switch back and forth between data marts that are linked to each other via a specific dimension. As an example, Müller and Lenz list the link between the sales data mart and the personnel deployment data mart. These two cubes are linked, for example, by the identical branch structure for both cases and thus by the location dimension. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 21)

2.3 Dependent Data Marts - Hub and Spoke

The modelling variant with dependent data marts is often referred to as the hub and spoke architecture and, along with the architecture with data marts with common dimensions, is the most frequently used architecture in practice. In this case, the data marts are supplied with data by the ODS according to a predefined schema that applies to the entire company. This approach represents the opposite of independent data marts and follows the so-called top-down principle. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 22)

2.4 Federated architectures

The federated architecture of a data warehouse is used when the data in the source systems is to be accessed directly and not extracted by an ETL process. In this case, the data is accessed virtually during queries so that it can be included in the analyses. This approach is used when data is fast moving or managed by third parties. The main components in the federated architecture are the wrapper and the mediator. The wrapper provides access to the data in the source systems and aligns the data, whereas the mediator coordinates the queries and connects the results.

2.5 Data Warehouse Layer Architecture

In addition to the classic structures of a data warehouse, another basic architecture for a data warehouse has now become established. This is the layered architecture, in which the individual components and processes of the data warehouse are divided into different layers. (Gluchowski, 2021)

Gluchowski also points out that in practice there is no uniform specification of how the layers are structured and named. Therefore, the following is an example of an ideal-typical layer architecture by Gluchowski.

Figure 2: Layered architecture data warehouse (Gluchowski, 2021)

As Figure 2 illustrates, the start and end points of the layered architecture correspond to the start and end points of the basic architecture of a data warehouse shown in Figure 1. In both architectures, the external sources are the origin and the analyses and reportings are the destination of the data warehousing process.

3. Why do you need a data warehouse?

Data warehousing is an essential component of business intelligence. Often, the term data warehousing is also used to describe the process behind business intelligence. The literature shows that the boundaries between the processes behind the two terms are not clearly defined and merge into each other.

Müller and Lenz (2013) define the term data warehousing as follows:

"Data warehousing is the business process that includes data procurement from internal and externally accessible sources, data transformation and preparation according to source and target database schemas, data quality assurance and storage in the (central) data warehouse or in (decentralised) data marts (user views) and OLAP-based data analysis". (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 11)

Müller and Lenz (2013) state in their book on business intelligence that data warehousing accounts for 25% of the total concept described by the word business intelligence. This contribution is complemented by 25% from data mining and statistics and 50% from business administration and operations research. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, p. 15)

Therefore, the question "Why is a data warehouse needed?" can be answered with the fact that a data warehouse and the process of data warehousing are necessary to carry out business intelligence in a company. In order to clearly answer the question of "why" in terms of a data warehouse, the question of the motivation for business intelligence in a company must be answered first.

Excursus: Business Intelligence

For more than 60 years, IT-based management support has been steadily advanced in companies. The focus was usually on supporting executives by using accumulated knowledge and experience in the form of IT-based figures, data and facts for future management decisions or for determining strategic action. However, it took several years until the first functional and successfully implemented systems were developed. At the beginning, these were still task-oriented. (Kemper, Baars, & Mehanna, 2010, p. 1)

The term "Management Support Systems" was coined in the 1980s to summarize the variety of existing information and communication systems. It is still used in science today. This is because it is applied to describe how IT-based management support not only refers to the use of computers, but is equally aimed at supporting management with the help of information and communication technologies. (Kemper, Baars, & Mehanna, 2010, p. 1)

The term Business Intelligence basically describes IT-based management support and has been used constantly since the 1990s to describe processes and applications related to IT. The term can mainly be traced back to considerations of the Gardner Group, which deals with market research and the analysis of developments in IT. It should also be noted that the term Business Intelligence cannot be clearly defined or described. The variety of definitions for this collective term is great and leads, among other things, to the fact that this term has continuously ensured that the principle of IT-based management support is discussed and constantly rethought. (Kemper, Baars, & Mehanna, 2010, p. 2)

With the knowledge of how a data warehouse works and why companies decide to implement business intelligence, the question of why a data warehouse is needed can be answered as follows:

On the one hand, there is the fundamental motivation behind the word Business Intelligence. This includes the goal of enabling IT-based, strategic management support. The aim is to provide management with a sound basis for making strategic decisions based on the linking and analysis of company-wide data.

This is where the data warehouse comes in, because the functionalities of a data warehouse enable companies to unite all data and to model them in such a way that complex queries as well as analyses based on the data stocks are possible.  

Bibliography

Devlin, B. A. & Murphy, P. T. (1988). An architecture for a business and information system. IBM Systems Journal, 60-80. https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/An-Architecture-for-a-Business-and-Information-Devlin-Murphy/c22ce1eeafb01f0682e194a2a22349aa141b78f6

Gluchowski, P. (2021, 26 February). Data Warehouse. Encyclopaedia of Business Informatics. https://enzyklopaedie-der-wirtschaftsinformatik.de/wi-enzyklopaedie/lexikon/daten-wissen/Business-Intelligence/Data-Warehouse

Hahne, M. (2014). Modelling Business Intelligence Systems: Guide for successful projects based on flexible data warehouse architectures. Edition TDWI. TDWI Europe. http://site.ebrary.com/lib/alltitles/Doc?id=10904187

Kemper, H.-G., Baars, H., & Mehanna, W. (2010). Business Intelligence - Fundamentals and Practical Applications: An introduction to IT-based management support (3rd , revised and expanded edition). Studies in Business Informatics. Vieweg + Teubner.

Köppen, V. (2014). Data Warehouse Technologies (2nd ed.). mitp Professional. mitp. https://ebookcentral. proquest.com/lib/kxp/detail.action?docID=6166362

Müller, R. M. & Lenz, H.-J. (2013). Business Intelligence. Springer Berlin Heidelberg. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-642-35560-8

Know more?

Would you like to delve deeper into this topic? Then we look forward to a personal exchange on data warehousing. Simply get in touch with us!

Your analytics contact
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

Marco Ferrari

Master's student
author

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on a star to rate!

Average rating 3.8 / 5.
Number of ratings: 11

No votes so far! Be the first person to rate this post!

ANALYTICS SOLUTIONS

Learn more about our Analytics solutions

INFORMATION

More information

Wiki Managed Cloud Services

Managed cloud services

Managed cloud services allow organizations to take advantage of cloud technology without having to deal with the complexities of cloud management.

Maximizing business potential with BigQuery ML

A significant proportion of up to 80% of all data often consists of unstructured data, such as images, videos and text documents....

Wiki EU Taxonomy Visual

Protected: EU Taxonomy

There is no text excerpt because this is a protected contribution.

Data & Analytics Strategy Guide

The importance of data has changed fundamentally in recent years. We are in a position to process ever larger amounts of data....

The importance of data quality for analytics

In the world of analytics, data quality is key to identifying relevant patterns and making informed decisions. Only through...

Wiki Predictive Controlling

Predictive Controlling: Automated Rolling Projection of the Group Income Statement

Predictive controlling enables predictions through data analysis and advanced models. Companies make informed decisions, react to changes at an early stage and strengthen their...

Cover image Wiki Article SAP Data Intelligence

SAP Data Intelligence - Get more from your data with data intelligence.

How can data (streams) from different locations be used efficiently and intelligently?SAP Data Intelligence makes it easier for companies to use their data...

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Home Data Warehousing Warum benötigt man ein Data Warehouse: Definition, Architektur und Vorteile

Warum benötigt man ein Data Warehouse: Definition, Architektur und Vorteile

Was ist ein Data Warehouse (Kapitel 1), wie ist es aufgebaut (Kapitel 2) und warum brauche ich als Organisation ein Data Warehouse (Kapitel 3)? Diese Fragen beantwortet der folgende Wissensartikel.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

1. Was ist ein Data Warehouse?

1.1. Definition Data Warehouse

„Ein Data Warehouse ist ein subjektorientierter integrierter, zeitraumbezogener und nicht-volatiler Datenbestand, um die Entscheidungs-, Planungs- und Controlling Prozesse des Managements zu unterstützen“ (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 14).

Data Warehousing kann als einer der wichtigsten Bestandteile des Business Intelligence gesehen werden. Man versteht darunter den gesamten Prozess, der in einem Data Warehouse durchlaufen wird. Die einzelnen Schritte dieses Prozesses werden folgend dargestellt:

  1. Der Prozess beginnt mit der Datenbeschaffung, welche auf externen sowohl als auch internen Quellen eines Unternehmens basiert.
  2. Darauf folgt Datenaufbereitung und die darauffolgende Datentransformation.
  3. Schlussendlich werden die aufbereiteten sowie transformierten Daten schliesslich im Data Warehouse gespeichert – Daten Speicherung. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 11)
 

Diese Prozessschritte lassen darauf schliessen, dass dieser Prozess im Grunde genommen nur die Datenbankpflege gesammelter Daten beschreibt. Diese Annahme ist jedoch weit gefehlt: Die Realität zeigt, dass dieser weit gefasste Prozess aus vielen einzelnen Prozessen besteht, welche einen enormen Arbeitsaufwand besitzen. Ein Beispiel dafür ist der ETL Prozess (Extraktion, Transformation und Laden), welcher beschreibt, wie die den verschiedenen Abteilungen zugeordneten Daten in das Data Warehouse übertragen und miteinander verknüpft werden. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 11-12)

1.2. Woher stammt die Idee des Data Warehouse?

Historisch betrachtet taucht der Begriff Data Warehouse erstmals im Jahr 1988 auf. Barry A. Delvin und Paul T. Murphy beschreiben hier erstmals den Einsatz einer zentralen Stelle zur Datensammlung. (Köppen, 2014)

Sie beschrieben in der Zeitschrift „Systems Journal“ von IBM, dass aufgrund des voranschreitenden Einsatzes von IT-Systemen in den Unternehmen das Bedürfnis entstand, auf die in den jeweiligen Systemen hinterlegten Unternehmensdaten zugreifen zu können. Anhand dieses Bedürfnisses war eindeutig erkennbar, dass eine Architektur beziehungsweise ein System notwendig ist, welches diese gesammelten Unternehmensdaten aus den verschiedenen IT-Anwendungen zusammenführt und einen einheitlichen Zugriff darauf ermöglicht. Delvin und Murphy (1988) stellten hier über knapp 20 Seiten hinweg das eigens aufgebaute EBIS vor. Das E steht für die Kürzel der Regionen Europa (E), Mittlerer Osten (ME) und Afrika (A) die Buchstaben BIS stehen für Business Information System.  Dieses von IBM intern entwickelte System sollte es ermöglichen, erstmals die IT-Daten aus den verschiedenen Regionen zusammenzuführen und gilt somit als erstes Beispiel für ein Data Warehouse System. (Devlin & Murphy, 1988, S. 60)

2. Wie ist ein Data Warehouse aufgebaut?

Für ein Data Warehouse gibt es verschiedene Anforderungen, die sich je nach Branche und Unternehmen stark verändern können. Daher existiert keine fest einzuhaltende Architektur für ein Data Warehouse. Im Laufe der Zeit haben sich die Aufbauten der Data Warehouses also immer wieder verändert und es entstanden verschiedene Modellierungsvarianten, die die Architektur eines Data Warehouses beschreiben. (Hahne, 2014)

In vielen Unternehmen sind Data Warehouse Konzepte historisch gesehen nicht basierend auf einem proaktiven Plan hin zur Durchführung von Business Intelligence entstanden. Stattdessen entstanden sie im Zuge der fortlaufenden Weiterentwicklung von IT-Systemlandschaften in den jeweiligen Unternehmen. Beim Aufbau eines Data Warhouses gibt es verschiedene sowohl technische als auch betriebswirtschaftliche Aspekte, die zu beachten sind. Daher ist es von Vorteil, wenn die Architektur eines Data Warehouses von Grund auf geplant und durchdacht wurde. Dieses strukturierte Vorgehen liefert im weiteren Verlauf Vorteile, sowohl bei der Nutzung als auch bei der Weiterentwicklung des Data Warehouses. (Gluchowski, 2021)

Aufgrund der Vorteile, die eine strukturierte Architektur für ein Data Warehouse mit sich bringt, wird folgend zuerst eine Grundlegende Struktur eines Data Warehouses dargestellt. Daraufhin werden einige Beispiele verschiedener Architekturvarianten vorgestellt.

Abbildung 1:Architektur eines Data Warehouses (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 19)
Abbildung 1: Architektur eines Data Warehouses (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 19)

Abbildung 1 stellt den grundlegenden Aufbau, sowie notwendige Komponenten eines Data Warehouses dar. Zu einem Data Warehouse werden sowohl die Daten aus den verschiedenen Quellen (Abbildung 1 Bereich 1), als auch die ETL Prozesse, welche die verschiedenen Daten in den 3. Bereich und das hier zentral abgebildete Data Warehouse (Core Data Warehouse) laden, zu der Gesamtkonzeption eines Data Warehouses hinzugezählt. Ebenso wird bei der Grundkonzeption eines Data Warehouses die Bereitstellung der Daten aus dem Core Data Warehouse zur Erstellung von Datenanalysen und Reports miteinbezogen. (Müller & Lenz, 2013)

Im folgenden werden die folgenden fünf bekanntesten Modellierungsvarianten näher beschrieben:

  • Unabhängige Data Marts – Stove Pipe

  • Data Marts mit gemeinsamen Dimensionen

  • Abhängige Data Marts – Hub and Spoke

  • Föderierte Architekturen

  • Data-Warehouse-Schichtenarchitektur

2.1. Unabhängige Data Marts – Stove Pipe

Bei der ersten Modellierungsvariante der Architektur eines Data Warehouses spricht man von unabhägnigen Data Marts. Dies beschreibt den Fall, wenn in Unternehmen einzelne Abteilungen damit beginnen, selbst Business Intelligence Lösungen aufzubauen. Solch ein Vorgehen hat zur Folge, dass jede Abteilung ein eigenen Data Mart aufbaut. Somit besteht das Core Data Warehouse aus der Unternehmenssicht betrachtet aus mehreren abteilungsbezogenen Data Marts die unabhängig voneinander sind. Diese Modellierungsvariante ist als negativ-Beispiel zu sehen, da in diesem Fall im Unternehmen kein „Single point of truth“ vorhanden ist, der die gemeinsame Datenwahrheit darstellt. Das liegt daran, dass die Daten in den jeweiligen Data Marts in unterschiedlichen Dimensionen eingeteilt und zudem auch unterschiedlich gekennzeichnet sind. Daraus resultiert, dass die Daten aus den jeweiligen Abteilungen nicht miteinander vergleichbar sind und zudem für jede Abteilung bzw. Data Mart ein eigener ETL Prozess angelegt werden muss. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 21)

2.2. Data Marts mit gemeinsamen Dimensionen

Bei einer Weiteren Modellierungsvariante sind die Data Marts über gemeinsame Dimensionen miteinander verbunden. Dies sorgt dafür, dass die einzelnen Data Marts nicht mehr unabhängig voneinander sind. Das ermöglicht ein hin- und her wechseln zwischen Data Marts die über eine bestimmte Dimension miteinander verbunden sind. Als Beispiel führen Müller und Lenz hier die Verknüpfung des Absatz Data Marts mit dem Personaleinsatz Data Marts auf. Diese beiden Würfel sind beispielweise durch die für beide Fälle identische Filialstruktur und somit die Ortsdimension miteinander verbunden. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 21)

2.3. Abhängige Data Marts – Hub and Spoke

Die Modellierungsvariante mit abhängigen Data Marts wird häufig als Hub and Spoke Architektur bezeichnet und stellt neben der Architektur mit Data Marts mit gemeinsamen Dimensionen die am häufigsten genutzte Architektur in der Praxis dar. In diesem Fall werden die Data Marts nach einem vorgegebenen Schema, welches für das gesamte Unternehmen gilt, von dem ODS mit Daten versorgt. Dieser Ansatz entspricht dem Gegensatz zu den unabhängigen Data Marts und verfolgt das sogenannte Top Down Prinzip. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 22)

2.4. Föderierte Architekturen

Die förderierte Architektur eines Data Warehouses kommt zum Einsatz, wenn auf die Daten in den Quellsystemen direkt zugegriffen und diese nicht durch einen ETL Prozess extrahiert werden sollen. Dabei wird bei Abfragen virtuell auf die Daten zugegriffen, um sie mit in die Analysen einfliessen zu lassen. Diese Vorgehensweise wird genutzt, wenn Daten schnelllebig sind oder von Dritten verwaltet werden. Die Hauptkomponenten sind bei der föderierten Architektur der Wrapper und der Mediator. Der Wrapper stellt den Zugriff auf die Daten in den Quellsystemen bereit und gleicht die Daten aneinander an. Wobei der Mediator die Abfragen koordiniert und die Ergebnisse miteinander verbindet.

2.5. Data-Warehouse-Schichtenarchitektur

Neben den klassischen Strukturen eines Data Warehouses hat sich mittlerweile eine weitere Grundlgegende Architektur für ein Data warehouse etabliert. Hierbei handelt es sich um die Schichtenarchitektur, worin die einzelnen Komponenten und Prozesse des Data Warehoueses in verschiedene Schichten eingeteilt werden. (Gluchowski, 2021)

Gluchowski verweist ausserdem darauf, dass es in der Praxis keine einheitliche Vorgabe gibt, wie die Schichten aufgebaut und bezeichnet werden. Folgend wird daher das Beispiel einer idealtypischen Schichtenarchitektur von Gluchowski dargestellt.

Abbildung 2: Schichtenarchitektur Data Warehouse (Gluchowski, 2021)

Wie Abbildung 2 verdeutlicht, entspricht der Start- und Endpunkt der Schichtenarchitektur den Start- und Endpunkten der in Abbildung 1 dargestellten grundlegenden Architektur eines Data Warehouses. In beiden Architekturen sind die externen Quellen der Ursprung und die Analysen sowie Reportings das Ziel des Data Warehousing Prozesses.

3. Warum benötigt man ein Data Warehouse?

Data Warehousing ist ein essenzieller Bestandteil von Business Intelligence. Häufig wird der Begriff Data Warehousing auch zur Bezeichnung des Prozesses, der sich hinter Business Intelligence verbirgt, verwendet. Die Literatur zeigt, dass die Grenzen zwischen den Prozessen hinter den beiden Begriffen nicht klar definiert sind und ineinander übergehen.

Den Begriff Data Warehousing definieren Müller und Lenz (2013) wie folgt:

„Unter Data Warehousing versteht man den Geschäftsprozess, der die Datenbeschaffung aus internen und extern zugänglichen Quellen, die Datentransformation und -aufbereitung gemäss der Quell- und Zieldatenbankschemata, die Datenqualitätssicherung und die Speicherung im (zentralen) Data Warehouse bzw. in (dezentralen) Data Marts (Benutzersichten) und die auf OLAP basierende Datenanalyse umfasst.“ (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 11)

Müller und Lenz (2013) stellen in Ihrem Buch zu Business Intelligence dar, dass der Anteil des Data Warehousings 25% an dem gesamten Konzept, das durch das Wort Business Intelligence beschrieben wird, ausmacht. Ergänzt wird dieser Beitrag zu 25% von Data Mining und Statistik sowie zu 50% von Betriebswirtschaft und Operations-Research. (Müller & Lenz, 2013, S. 15)

Daher kann die Frage „Warum wird ein Data Warehouse benötigt?“ damit beantwortet werden, dass ein Data Warehouse und der Prozess des Data Warehousings notwendig ist, um Business Intelligence in einem Unternehmen auszuführen. Um die Frage nach dem „Warum“ im Sinne eines Data Warehouses eindeutig zu beantworten, muss folglich zuerst die Frage nach der Motivation für Business Intelligence in einem Unternehmen beantwortet werden.

Exkurs: Business Intelligence

Schon seit über 60 Jahren wird in Unternehmen IT-basierte Managementunterstützung stetig vorangetrieben. Im Vordergrund stand hierbei meist, Führungskräfte durch die Nutzung von gesammeltem Wissen bzw. Erfahrungen in Form von IT-basierten Zahlen, Daten und Fakten für zukünftige Management Entscheidungen oder auch zur Festlegung für strategisches Vorgehen zu unterstützen. Es dauerte jedoch einige Jahre, bis die ersten funktionsfähigen sowie erfolgreich eingesetzten Systeme entwickelt wurden. Diese waren zu Beginn noch aufgabenorientiert. (Kemper, Baars, & Mehanna, 2010, S. 1)

Der Begriff „Management Support Systems“ hat sich in den 80er Jahren durchgesetzt, um die Vielfallt an bestehenden Informations- und Kommunikationssystemen zusammenzufassen. Er findet auch heute noch seine Verwendung in der Wissenschaft. Dies liegt daran, dass damit beschrieben wird, wie IT-basierte Managementunterstützung sich nicht nur auf die Nutzung von Computern bezieht, sondern ebenso auf die Unterstützung des Managements mit Hilfe von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien abzielt. (Kemper, Baars, & Mehanna, 2010, S. 1)

Der Begriff Business Intelligence beschreibt im Grunde die IT-basierte Managementunterstützung und wird seit den 90er Jahren konstant dazu genutzt, Prozesse und Anwendungen zu beschreiben, die mit der IT im Zusammenhang stehen. Zurückzuführen ist dieser Begriff hauptsächlich auf Überlegungen der Gardner Group, welche sich mit Marktforschungen sowie der Analyse von Entwicklungen in der IT beschäftigt. Festzuhalten ist zudem, dass der Begriff Business Intelligence nicht eindeutig zu definieren oder zu beschreiben ist.  Die Definitionsvielfalt für diesen Sammelbegriff ist gross und führt unter anderem dazu, dass dieser Begriff fortlaufend dafür gesorgt hat, das Prinzip der IT-basierten Managementunterstützung zu diskutieren und ständig neu zu überdenken. (Kemper, Baars, & Mehanna, 2010, S. 2)

Mit den Erkenntnissen, wie ein Data Warehouse funktioniert und warum Unternehmen sich dazu entscheiden, Business Intelligence umzusetzen, lässt sich die Frage, warum ein Data Warehouse benötigt wird, wie folgt beantworten:

Hier ist zum einen die grundlegende Motivation zu nennen, welche sich hinter dem Wort Business Intelligence verbirgt. Diese beinhaltet das Ziel, die IT basierte, strategische Managementunterstützung zu ermöglichen. Dabei geht es darum, dem Management mithilfe der Verknüpfung und Analyse von unternehmensweiten Datenbeständen eine fundierte Grundlage zu bieten, um darauf basierend strategische Entscheidungen treffen zu können.

An diesem Punkt kommt das Data Warehouse zum Einsatz, denn die Funktionalitäten eines Data Warehouses ermöglichen es Unternehmen, alle Daten zu vereinen und diese so zu modellieren, dass komplexe Abfragen sowie Analysen anhand der Datenbestände möglich sind.  

Literaturverzeichnis

Devlin, B. A. & Murphy, P. T. (1988). An architecture for a business and information system. IBM Systems Journal, 60–80. https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/An-Architecture-for-a-Business-and-Information-Devlin-Murphy/c22ce1eeafb01f0682e194a2a22349aa141b78f6

Gluchowski, P. (2021, 26. Februar). Data Warehouse. Enzyklopaedie der Wirtschaftsinformatik. https://enzyklopaedie-der-wirtschaftsinformatik.de/wi-enzyklopaedie/lexikon/daten-wissen/Business-Intelligence/Data-Warehouse

Hahne, M. (2014). Modellierung von Business-Intelligence-Systemen: Leitfaden für erfolgreiche Projekte auf Basis flexibler Data-Warehouse-Architekturen. Edition TDWI. TDWI Europe. http://site.ebrary.com/lib/alltitles/Doc?id=10904187

Kemper, H.‑G., Baars, H., & Mehanna, W. (2010). Business Intelligence – Grundlagen und praktische Anwendungen: Eine Einführung in die IT-basierte Managementunterstützung  (3., überarbeitete und erweiterte Auflage). Studium Wirtschaftsinformatik. Vieweg + Teubner.

Köppen, V. (2014). Data Warehouse Technologien (2. Aufl.). mitp Professional. mitp. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/kxp/detail.action?docID=6166362

Müller, R. M. & Lenz, H.‑J. (2013). Business Intelligence. Springer Berlin Heidelberg. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-642-35560-8

Published by:

Marco Ferrari

Masterand
autor:IN

Wie hat Ihnen der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf einen Stern, um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 3

Bislang keine Stimmen! Seien Sie die erste Person, die diesen Beitrag bewertet!

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on xing
Share on linkedin
Share on email

ANALYTICS LÖSUNGEN

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Analytics Lösungen

INFORMATIONEN

Weitere Informationen

Wiki - The Big 5 - Sustainability Reporting

Die „Big Five“ des Sustainability Reportings

Wer gibt Standards im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung vor? Der folgende Wissensartikel befasst sich mit dieser Frage. Es werden fünf verschiedene…

Titelbild On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software Was ist der Unterschied

On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software: Was ist der Unterschied?

Was ist On- und was ist Off-Premise Software und was ist der Unterschied? Diese Thematik behandelt der folgende Wissensartikel. Zudem…

Wiki 5 Sustainability KPIs

Die 5 wichtigsten Sustainability KPIs

Was sind die 5 wichtigsten Sustainability KPIs? Und warum sind Sustainabilty KPIs wichtig für Ihr Unternehmen? Inhaltsverzeichnis 1. Wozu werden…

Wiki Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint

Überblick Carbon Footprint Software

Vorabinformation: Diesem Artikel gehen zwei Wikis voraus: (1) „Corporate und Product Carbon Footprint“ und (2) „Wie berechne ich einen Carbon…

Wiki Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint

Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint?

Dieser Artikel beantwortet die Frage, wie man einen Carbon Footprint – also einen ökologischen Fussabdruck – berechnet. Dabei werden wichtige…

Wiki Analysis for Office

Optimierte Effizienz für End-User: SAP Analysis for Office (AfO)

Dieser Artikel gibt eine Überblick über SAP Analysis for Office (AfO). Zudem werden folgende Fragen beantwortet: Was ist eine SAP…

Wiki Corporate Carbon Footprint

Corporate Carbon Footprint & Product Carbon Footprint

Was ist der Corporate Carbon Footprint und was ist der Product Carbon Footprint? Welche Rolle spielen dabei das Drei-Säulen-Modell, Scope…