fbpx
Home IT Basics On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software: What's the Difference?

On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software: What's the Difference?

What is on-premise and what is off-premise software and what is the difference? This topic is covered in the following knowledge article. In addition, the advantages and disadvantages of both options are presented and evaluated.

First of all, an important piece of information: While the term on-premise exists, the term off-premise does not. One speaks either of outsourcing (the use of external resources by subcontracting some or all IT areas of the company) or of the use of cloud software. In this article, we only discuss cloud usage and therefore use it synonymously with "off-premise".

Table of contents

But what is the difference between on-premise and cloud software?

For many companies, the question of whether an on-premise solution or cloud-based software is more suitable is becoming increasingly important when deciding on new software. It should be emphasized here that the term off-premise does not officially exist in this context. The two common terms on-premise and cloud software are used.

While on-premise solutions were still considered the standard ten years ago, the use of cloud software in companies has grown strongly in recent years. SAP's cloud-first strategy also aims to offer new services, technologies and innovations primarily as cloud services. The two variants (on-premise & cloud) essentially differ in the storage and archiving of the company's own data. To provide an overview of the two solutions, both the on-premise software and the cloud-based solution are explained below and their advantages and disadvantages are also highlighted.

What is on-premise software? 

An on-premise software is operated on the company's own servers and systems. The software is thus installed in the company's own network. In addition to the on-premise solution, there is also the option of hosting for selected SAP products (e.g. SAP S/4HANA). In this variant, the infrastructure (such as servers, storage and network resources) of on-premise software is outsourced to a partner specializing in this, i.e. the infrastructure is located in external data centers. In a pure on-premise solution, however, the data is not located on externally hosted servers and is administered internally. The on-premise translation means something like "on-site software", because the software is exclusively installed and maintained locally. With an on-premise solution, installation is usually done through downloads or CDs. The license is usually tied to a specific user or computer. 

Advantages and disadvantages of on-premise software

This is accompanied by the following advantages and disadvantages:

Advantages on-premise software

Disadvantages on-premise Software

Access to data even without internet

Ownership of the data

Many individualisation options

Personnel costs

Flexibility

Costs for hardware, maintenance, updates, support

High control over the system

Limited storage space

 

Dependence on the operating system

 

Restricted access on the move

Webinar

SAP Datasphere & SAP Analytics Cloud feature update in Q2/24

Date: 28.05.2024
Time: 08.30 - 09.15 a.m. 

Examples of SAP on-premise products 

What is cloud / off-premise software? 

In contrast to on-premise, with the cloud the data is stored on external servers. The software (i.e. the cloud) can be accessed via the Internet from any end device. The software is provided and maintained by the provider so that the company does not have to purchase its own technical infrastructure (software and hardware). The cloud solution can therefore be used independently of the operating system used in the company, for example, without downloading or installing any software. This model is based on the "Software-as-a-Service" (SaaS) principle. SaaS describes that the cloud solution is a license and distribution model and software is "rented", i.e. software applications are demanded via the Internet, i.e. as a service. The term cloud software is usually used synonymously with SaaS.

Advantages and disadvantages of cloud software

The advantages and disadvantages are listed below:

Advantages of cloud software

Disadvantages of cloud software

Automatic updates and further development (mostly) included

Monthly or annual costs

No costs for own server

Possibly less functionality

Security of data and backups by providers mostly guaranteed

No unrestricted control over own data

Low costs for IT staff

Fewer options for personalisation

Higher compatibility through interfaces

Offline work (in case of internet failure) not possible

Unlimited storage space

Data security

Access from different devices, even outside the company network

 

Usage-based and flexible pricing models

 

Examples of SAP Cloud Software products: 

Conclusion: on-premise or cloud software?  

When an on-premise solution makes sense and when it is better to rely on a cloud solution varies from company to company. As described above, both applications have advantages and disadvantages. The administration effort is significantly higher with on-premise, but local on-premise hosting also offers some advantages over the cloud. For example, company-related data is stored and managed by the company itself. In addition, on-premise solutions can be tailored more specifically to individual company needs.

However, the trend in recent years shows that cloud-based SaaS is becoming increasingly popular. The data here is stored externally in data centers, which is why the security aspect is often cited as the biggest counter-argument for cloud solutions. However, professional cloud providers work here with strict precautions and high security standards, so that the data here is not infrequently more secure than in the local IT infrastructure of many companies. A large number of individual measures and security criteria have been worked out for securing cloud services, so that the risk of failures, data loss and access by unauthorized persons is minimized.

The following guidelines are among the five most important security aspects that are considered the foundation of cloud security:

  1. Server and network security
  2. Identity and access management
  3. Information security
  4. Application and platform security
  5. Physical security

The cloud solution also stands out from on-premise solutions because it requires little effort on the part of the company and is spatially independent. Which solution is ultimately chosen depends on the various requirements within the company. The decision should take into account the human, technical and financial resources within the company as well as the specific requirements for the software.

There are also hybrid applications: here, the cloud software is hosted on the company's own servers, for example, or individual applications are outsourced to the cloud while local servers are also operated.

The question of whether a company should rely on cloud or on-premise solutions for its SAP systems also arises.solutions or on-premise solutions cannot be answered in a generalized way. With regard to licenses, SAP offers two different licensing models. Most on-premise applications are thus licensed for an unlimited period, while a subscription license (for a fixed period) is usually concluded for cloud applications. There are also fundamental differences in terms of infrastructure and maintenance: companies that decide to use an on-premise solution must provide their own database, hardware, networks, etc.. In addition, their own IT staff is also required here to maintain the system. With the cloud solution, on the other hand, SAP is responsible for the complete system, including maintenance. In addition, the customer always works with the latest version, as available upgrades are performed automatically.

The SAP S4/HANA system, for example, is offered as both an on-premise version and a cloud version. The SAP S4/HANA on-premise version is recommended for all companies that require the full range of functionalities. Here, individual customer adaptations and company-specific requirements can also be made. However, if the focus is on a scalable ERP solution, the SAP S/4HANA Cloud Edition should be chosen. As described above, the company can save on the necessary IT infrastructure etc. here and concentrate fully on innovations and the growth of the company.

In conclusion, it can be said that SAP's focus in the future will clearly be on cloud solutions. According to market research, the trend is also moving to the cloud: By the end of 2021, 80% of companies will have switched to cloud-based applications and infrastructures.

Download Wiki article as a .pdf

Know more?

Would you like to delve deeper into this topic? Then we look forward to a personal exchange on the topic of on-premise vs. cloud software - very much in combination with details on other cloud-based solutions. Simply get in touch with us!

Your analytics contact
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

William Kotterla

Former SAP Business Intelligence Consultant

author

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on a star to rate!

Average rating 4.8 / 5.
Number of ratings: 10

No votes so far! Be the first person to rate this post!

INFORMATION

More information

Wiki SAC GCP Excelimport

SAC & GCP Excel import

The article describes the SAC & GCP solution, with which Excel plan data can be easily and conveniently integrated into SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)....

Cover image Wiki What is Artificial Intelligence (AI) (1)

What is Artificial Intelligence (AI)?

Artificial Intelligence stands for artificial intelligence (AI). And since there is no universally accepted philosophical definition of intelligence, different views of what artificial intelligence is can also be found...

Cover image Wiki What is Machine Learning (ML)?

What is Machine Learning (ML)?

Machine Learning is the answer to one of the questions to a weak Artificial Intelligence. It is a fundamental concept to study algorithms that automatically improve themselves based on experience (using data)...

Wiki How to R - Beginners Guide (1)

How to R - Beginner Guide Time Series Analysis

In this small tutorial, we will limit ourselves to briefly outlining the essential steps in time series analysis in the programming language R...

EU Taxonomy Wiki

EU taxonomy - implementation in an SAP Analytics system

From KPI definition to reporting: Evaluate your company's sales, CapEx and OpEx activities in accordance with the EU taxonomy criteria. We accompany you step by step in the successful implementation of the EU taxonomy guidelines...

Wiki SCT

Sustainability Control Tower (SCT)

At a time when sustainable business practices are indispensable, the focus is increasingly on monitoring and recording one's own sustainability performance using precise data. The SAP Sustainability Control Tower is a comprehensive sustainability solution that enables holistic reporting...

Wiki What is R

What is R?

R is a programming language designed for statistical applications, which enjoys a high degree of diffusion especially in the field of Data Science...

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Home IT Basics On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software: Was ist der Unterschied?

On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software: Was ist der Unterschied?

Zuerst einmal eine wichtige Information: Während der Begriff On-Premise existiert, gibt es den Begriff Off-Premise nicht: man spricht nicht von Off-Premise Software, sondern von Cloud Software. 

1. Doch worin liegt der Unterschied zwischen On-Premise und Cloud-Software?

Für viele Unternehmen stellt sich bei der Entscheidung für eine neue Software immer öfters die Frage, ob eine On-Premise Lösung oder eine cloudbasierte Software besser geeignet ist. Hierbei ist hervorzuheben, dass der Begriff Off-Premise in diesem Zusammenhang offiziell nicht existiert. Es werden die beiden gängigen Begriffe On-Premise und Cloud Software verwendet. 

Während noch vor zehn Jahren die On-Premise Lösung als Standard galt, ist der Einsatz von Cloud Software in Unternehmen in den letzten Jahren stark gewachsen. Auch die Cloud-First-Strategie von SAP zielt darauf ab, neue Dienstleistungen, Technologien und Innovationen primär als Cloud-Services anzubieten. Die beiden Varianten (On-Premise & Cloud) unterscheiden sich im Wesentlichen in der Speicherung und Archivierung von unternehmenseigenen Daten. Um einen Überblick über die beiden Lösungen zu geben, werden im Folgenden sowohl die On-Premise Software als auch die cloudbasierte Lösung erläutert und zudem deren Vor- und Nachteile hervorgehoben.   

2. Was ist On-Premise Software? 

Eine On-Premise Software wird auf den unternehmenseigenen Servern und Systemen betrieben. Die Software wird somit im eigenen Netzwerk des Unternehmens installiert. Zusätzlich zu der On-Premise Lösung besteht bei ausgewählten SAP Produkten (z.B. SAP S/4HANA) die Möglichkeit des Hostings. Bei dieser Variante wird die Infrastruktur (wie beispielsweise Server, Storage und Netzwerkressourcen) einer On-Premise Software an einen darauf spezialisierten Partner ausgelagert, d.h. die Infrastruktur befindet sich in externen Rechenzentren. Bei einer reinen On-Premise Lösung befinden sich die Daten jedoch nicht auf extern gehosteten Servern und werden intern administriert. Die On-Premise Übersetzung bedeutet so viel wie «Vor-Ort-Software», denn die Software wird ausschliesslich lokal installiert und gewartet. Bei einer On-Premise Lösung erfolgt die Installation meist durch Downloads oder CDs. Die Lizenz ist hierbei normalerweise an einen bestimmten Nutzer bzw. einen Computer gebunden. 

2.1. Vor- und Nachteile von On-Premise Software

Damit gehen die folgenden Vor- und Nachteile einher: 

Vorteile On-Premise Software

Nachteile On-Premise Software

Zugriff auf Daten auch ohne Internet 

Eigenverantwortlichkeit für die Daten 

Viele Individualisierungsmöglichkeiten 

Personalkosten 

Flexibilität 

Kosten für Hardware, Wartung, Updates, Support 

Hohe Kontrolle über das System 

Begrenzter Speicherplatz 

 

Abhängigkeit vom Betriebssystem 

 

Eingeschränkter Zugriff von unterwegs 

2.2. Beispiele von SAP On-Premise Produkten 

3. Was ist die Cloud / Off-Premise Software? 

Im Unterschied zu On-Premise werden bei der Cloud die Daten auf externen Servern gelagert. Über das Internet kann von jedem beliebigen Endgerät auf die Software (also die Cloud) zugegriffen werden. Hierbei wird die Software von dem Anbieter zur Verfügung gestellt und betreut, so dass das Unternehmen keine eigene technische Infrastruktur anschaffen muss (Software sowie Hardware). Die Cloud Lösung kann somit beispielsweise unabhängig von dem im Unternehmen genutzten Betriebssystem verwendet werden, ohne dass eine Software heruntergeladen oder installiert wird. Dieses Modell basiert auf dem «Software-as-a-Service» (SaaS) Prinzip. SaaS beschreibt, dass es sich bei der Cloud Lösung um ein Lizenz- und Vertriebsmodell handelt und Software «gemietet» wird, also Software-Anwendungen über das Internet, d.h. als Service, nachgefragt werden. Der Begriff Cloud Software wird meist synonym für SaaS genutzt.

3.1. Vor- und Nachteile von Cloud Software

Im Folgenden sind die Vor- und Nachteile aufgelistet: 

Vorteile Cloud Software 

Nachteile Cloud Software 

Automatische Updates und Weiterentwicklung (meist) inklusive 

Monatliche bzw. jährliche Kosten 

Keine Kosten für eigenen Server 

Evtl. geringerer Funktionsumfang 

Sicherheit der Daten und Backups durch Anbieter meistens gewährleistet 

Keine uneingeschränkte Kontrolle über eigene Daten 

Geringe Kosten für IT-Personal 

Weniger Möglichkeiten zur Personalisierung 

Höhere Kompatibilität durch Schnittstellen 

Offline arbeiten (bei Internetausfall) nicht möglich 

Unbegrenzter Speicherplatz 

Datensicherheit 

Zugriff von verschiedenen Geräten, auch ausserhalb des Unternehmensnetzwerks 

 

Nutzungsabhängige und flexible Preismodelle 

 

3.2. Beispiele von SAP Cloud Software Produkten: 

4. Fazit: On-Premise oder Cloud Software?  

Wann eine On-Premise Lösung sinnvoll ist und wann man lieber auf eine Cloud Lösung setzen soll, ist von Unternehmen zu Unternehmen unterschiedlich. Wie oben beschrieben, haben beide Anwendungen Vor – und Nachteile. Der Verwaltungsaufwand ist bei On-Premise zwar deutlich höher, das lokale On-Premise Hosting bietet jedoch gegenüber der Cloud auch einige Vorteile. So werden die unternehmensbezogenen Daten vom Unternehmen selbst gespeichert und verwaltet. Darüber hinaus lassen sich On-Premise Lösungen spezieller auf die individuellen Unternehmensbedürfnisse zuschneiden.  

Der Trend der letzten Jahre zeigt jedoch, dass die Cloud-basierte SaaS immer mehr an Beliebtheit gewinnt. Die Daten werden hier extern in Rechenzentren gespeichert, weswegen der Sicherheitsaspekt oft als grösstes Gegenargument für Cloud Lösungen genannt wird. Professionelle Cloud Anbieter arbeiten hier jedoch mit strengen Vorkehrungen und hohen Sicherheitsstandards, so dass die Daten hier nicht selten sicherer sind als in der lokalen IT-Infrastruktur vieler Unternehmen. Für die Absicherung von Cloud Services wurde eine Vielzahl an Einzelmassnahmen und Sicherheitskriterien herausgearbeitet, so dass das Risiko von Ausfällen, Datenverlust und Zugriff durch Unbefugte minimiert wird.

Die folgenden Richtlinien gehören zu den fünf wichtigsten Sicherheitsaspekten, welche als Grundlage der Cloud Sicherheit gelten:

  1. Server- und Netzwerksicherheit,
  2. Identitäts- und Zugriffsverwaltung,
  3. Informationssicherheit,
  4. Anwendungs- und Plattformsicherheit sowie
  5. physische Sicherheit. 

Die Cloud Lösung hebt sich ausserdem durch wenig Eigenaufwand für Unternehmen sowie räumlicher Unabhängigkeit von On-Premise Lösungen ab. Welche Lösung man letztendlich wählt, hängt von unterschiedlichen Voraussetzungen innerhalb des Unternehmens ab. Bei der Entscheidung miteinbezogen werden sollten sowohl die personellen, technischen und finanziellen Ressourcen innerhalb des Unternehmens als auch die speziellen Anforderungen an die Software.

Zudem gibt es hybride Anwendungen: hier wird die Cloud Software beispielsweise auf unternehmenseigenen Servern gehostet oder es werden einzelne Anwendungen in die Cloud ausgelagert und gleichzeitig auch lokale Server betrieben. 

Auch die Frage, ob ein Unternehmen hinsichtlich seiner SAP Systeme auf Cloud Lösungen oder On-Premise Lösungen setzen soll, kann pauschal nicht beantwortet werden. Hinsichtlich der Lizenzen bietet SAP zwei verschiedene Lizenzmodelle an. Die meisten On-Premise Anwendungen werden somit unbefristet lizenziert, während für Cloud Anwendungen meist eine Abonnementlizenz (für einen festgelegten Zeitraum) abgeschlossen wird. Auch was die Infrastruktur und Wartung betrifft, gibt es grundlegende Unterschiede: Unternehmen, die sich entscheiden, eine On-Premise Lösung einzusetzen, müssen ihre eigene Datenbank, Hardware, Netzwerke etc. zur Verfügung stellen. Hier ist zudem auch eigenes IT-Personal für die Wartung des Systems notwendig. Bei der Cloud Lösung hingegen ist SAP für das komplette System einschliesslich Wartung zuständig. Zusätzlich arbeitet der Kunde immer mit der aktuellsten Version, da zur Verfügung stehende Upgrades automatisch durchgeführt werden.  

Das SAP S4/HANA System wird beispielsweise sowohl als On-Premise Version als auch als Cloud Version angeboten. Die SAP S4/HANA On-Premise Version empfiehlt sich für alle Unternehmen, die das volle Spektrum aller Funktionalitäten benötigen. Hier können auch individuelle Kundenanpassungen und Firmen-spezifische Anforderungen vorgenommen werden. Liegt der Fokus jedoch auf einer skalierbaren ERP-Lösung, sollte die SAP S/4HANA Cloud Edition gewählt werden. Wie oben beschrieben kann sich das Unternehmen hier die notwendige IT-Infrastruktur usw. sparen und sich in vollem Umfang auf Innovationen und das Wachstum des Unternehmens konzentrieren.  

Abschliessend lässt sich sagen, dass der Fokus von SAP zukünftig eindeutig auf den Cloud Lösungen liegt. Marktforschungen zufolge geht der Trend auch auf den Umstieg in die Cloud: Bis Ende 2021 werden demnach 80% der Unternehmen auf cloudbasierte Anwendungen und Infrastrukturen umstellen.  

Wiki-Artikel als PDF herunterladen

Mehr wissen?

Sie möchten tiefer in dieses Thema einsteigen? Dann freuen wir uns auf den persönlichen Austausch zum Thema On-Premise vs. Cloud Software – sehr gerne auch kombiniert mit Details zu weiteren Cloud-basierten Lösungen. Nehmen Sie einfach Kontakt mit uns auf!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin für Analytics Themen
Theresa Riesterer - SAP Analytics Expert
Theresa Riesterer
SAP-Analytics Expertin

Published by:

William Kotterla

ehem. SAP Business Intelligence Consultant

autor:IN

Wie hat Ihnen der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf einen Stern, um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 1

Bislang keine Stimmen! Seien Sie die erste Person, die diesen Beitrag bewertet!

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on xing
Share on linkedin
Share on email

ANALYTICS LÖSUNGEN

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Analytics Lösungen

INFORMATIONEN

Weitere Informationen

Wiki: Warum benötigt man ein dwh?

Warum benötigt man ein Data Warehouse: Definition, Architektur und Vorteile

Was ist ein Data Warehouse (Kapitel 1), wie ist es aufgebaut (Kapitel 2) und warum brauche ich als Organisation ein…

Wiki Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint

Überblick Carbon Footprint Software

Vorabinformation: Diesem Artikel gehen zwei Wikis voraus: (1) „Corporate und Product Carbon Footprint“ und (2) „Wie berechne ich einen Carbon…

Wiki Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint

Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint?

Dieser Artikel beantwortet die Frage, wie man einen Carbon Footprint – also einen ökologischen Fussabdruck – berechnet. Dabei werden wichtige…

Wiki Analysis for Office

Optimierte Effizienz für End-User: SAP Analysis for Office (AfO)

Dieser Artikel gibt eine Überblick über SAP Analysis for Office (AfO). Zudem werden folgende Fragen beantwortet: Was ist eine SAP…

Wiki Corporate Carbon Footprint

Corporate Carbon Footprint & Product Carbon Footprint

Was ist der Corporate Carbon Footprint und was ist der Product Carbon Footprint? Welche Rolle spielen dabei das Drei-Säulen-Modell, Scope…

Wiki Finanzplanung mit der SAC

Wie funktioniert die Finanzplanung mit der SAC?

Wie können Unternehmen finanziellen Erfolg auch in Zukunft sicherstellen? Eine wichtige Rolle spielt dabei die Finanzplanung. Warum eine Finanzplanung sinnvoll…

Titelbild Wiki_Was ist Software as a Service (SaaS)

Was ist Software as a Service (SaaS)?

In diesem Artikel wird Software-as-a-Service definiert und von Infrastructure as a Service und Platform as a Service abgegrent. Ausserdem werden…