fbpx
Home Data Warehousing What is a Data Warehouse (DW)?

What is a data warehouse (DW)?

A data warehouse is a company-wide database that integrates data from various heterogeneous data sources and uses them for analysis and evaluation purposes. and evaluation purposes and evaluation purposes. A well-designed data warehouse delivers high data throughput, performs queries quickly and offers end users the ability to break the data into smaller pieces to view it from different angles.

More about the structure and why you need a data warehouse can be found in this wiki article.

 

What are the four essential characteristics of a data warehouse (DW)?

The data structure in a DW is used to support management decisions and is not designed to support operational business processes. Data is stored according to specific objects such as customer or product. Decision makers analyze the data of these objects and make their decisions based on them.

The data are integrated from various heterogeneous data sources integrated into a common dataset. For the integration, the data must be transferred into a uniform data structure and a common data format.

In a DW, the stored data is neither deleted nor modified. The data in a DW can only be changed to eliminate errors. In the course of time, a historical data stock is thus created, which is composed of the data of the individual operative application systems.

The data are loaded into a DW at different times. The newly loaded data records do not overwrite the old data stock, but merely supplement it. This creates a snapshot of what is happening in the company each time. Accordingly, the data can be compared over different periods of time and trends can be identified.

What does the term Business Intelligence (BI) have to do with data warehousing?

Business Intelligence (BI) comprises the access to information with the help of IT systems. The analysis, evaluation and presentation of business-relevant company data is intended to provide insights into the current state of the company. These insights contribute significantly to strategic and operational decision support. The aim is to provide management with high-quality data and to support its decisions in the best possible way.

What is a database management system?

  • A database management system - also called a database system for short - has been designed to manage large amounts of information.
  • The primary goal of a database system is to provide the most efficient and convenient way to store and retrieve database information.
  • A database system is an organised collection of electronically structured information or data stored in a computer system. Within a database, the data can be easily managed, modified, updated and retrieved.
  • The core task of a database is to store large amounts of data efficiently, permanently and without errors, and to provide the required information as needed.

Why is the term "cloud computing" important when it comes to data warehousing (DW)?

  • The name cloud computing is a metaphor for the internet. The internet is typically represented in network diagrams as a cloud.
  • The cloud symbol represents unknown network infrastructures that make the network work.
  • Probably one of the most currently recognized definitions of cloud computing is that of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), which is also often referred to in professional circles. NIST defines cloud computing as a model that enables ubiquitous, convenient, on-demand network access to a shared pool of configurable computing resources (e.g., network, servers, applications, services, and storage).
  • These computing resources can be quickly provisioned and released with minimal administration or interaction with the service provider. 

The cloud model is composed of three service models:

  1. Infrastructure-as-a-Service
  2. Platform as a Service and
  3. Software-as-a service).

These are the four deployment models of cloud computing:

  1. Private,
  2. Public,
  3. Hybrid and
  4. Community Cloud.
  • In contrast to cloud computing, data warehouse solutions are also used on-premise provided.
  • "On-Premises"means something like "onone's own premises" or "on site".
  • The description of on-premise refers to the use of own servers and own IT environment.
  • While access in the cloud is via the Internet, on-premise solutions are operated locally on the user's own computer.

Know more?

Would you like to delve deeper into this topic? Then we would be happy to present all the elements of data warehousing to you in person - very much in combination with details of other functions of the SAP Data Warehouse Cloud. Simply get in touch with us!

Your contact person for data warehousing
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

Paul Vatter

Data workshop manager

author

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on a star to rate!

Average rating 0 / 5.
Number of ratings: 0

No votes so far! Be the first person to rate this post!

INFORMATION

More information

SAP Analysis for Microsoft Office vs. SAP Analytics Cloud Excel Add-In: Functions and differences

This article compares the features and possible applications of SAP Analysis for Microsoft Office (AfO) and the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)...

Wiki Big Query SAP Warehousing

Google BigQuery vs. SAP Warehousing

This wiki article presents two leading solutions for data management and analysis in the modern data-driven world: Google BigQuery and SAP BW. Both systems offer powerful functions, but differ in their approaches and areas of application.

Wiki SAC GCP Excelimport

SAC & GCP Excel import

The article describes the SAC & GCP solution, with which Excel plan data can be easily and conveniently imported into SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) models. With the help of Excel templates and a user-friendly web application, the data is prepared locally and automatically transferred to the SAC model via the SAC Data Import API.

Cover image Wiki What is Artificial Intelligence (AI) (1)

What is Artificial Intelligence (AI)?

Artificial Intelligence stands for artificial intelligence (AI). And since there is no universally accepted philosophical definition of intelligence, different views of what artificial intelligence is can also be found...

Cover image Wiki What is Machine Learning (ML)?

What is Machine Learning (ML)?

Machine Learning is the answer to one of the questions to a weak Artificial Intelligence. It is a fundamental concept to study algorithms that automatically improve themselves based on experience (using data)...

Wiki How to R - Beginners Guide (1)

How to R - Beginner Guide Time Series Analysis

In this small tutorial, we will limit ourselves to briefly outlining the essential steps in time series analysis in the programming language R...

EU Taxonomy Wiki

EU taxonomy - implementation in an SAP Analytics system

From KPI definition to reporting: Evaluate your company's sales, CapEx and OpEx activities in accordance with the EU taxonomy criteria. We accompany you step by step in the successful implementation of the EU taxonomy guidelines...

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

fbpx
Home Data Warehousing Was ist ein Data Warehouse (DW)?

Was ist ein Data Warehouse (DW)?

Unter einem Data Warehouse ist eine unternehmensweite Datenbasis zu verstehen, welche Daten aus verschiedenen heterogenen Datenquellen integriert und zu Analyse- und Auswertungszwecken bereitstellt. Ein gut konzipiertes Data Warehouse liefert einen hohen Datendurchsatz, führt Abfragen schnell durch und bietet den Endnutzern die Möglichkeit, die Daten in kleinere Teile zu zerlegen, um sie aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln betrachten zu können. 

Mehr zum Aufbau und zur Frage, warum man ein Data Warehouse benötigt, gibt es in diesem Wiki-Artikel.

 

Was sind die vier wesentlichen Charakteristika eines Data Warehouse (DW)?

 Die Datenstruktur in einem DW dient zur Unterstützung von Managemententscheidungen und ist nicht auf die Unterstützung von operativen Geschäftsprozessen ausgerichtet. Die Daten werden nach bestimmten Objekten wie z. B. Kunde oder Produkt gespeichert. Entscheidungsträger analysieren die Daten dieser Objekte und treffen ihre Entscheidungen auf deren Basis. 

Die Daten werden aus verschiedenen heterogenen Datenquellen in einen gemeinsamen Datenbestand integriert. Für die Integration müssen die Daten in eine einheitliche Datenstruktur und ein gemeinsames Datenformat überführt werden. 

In einem DW werden die gespeicherten Daten weder gelöscht noch modifiziert. Lediglich zur Beseitigung von Fehlern können die Daten in einem DW geändert werden. Im Laufe der Zeit entsteht so ein historischer Datenbestand, der sich aus den Daten der einzelnen operativen Anwendungssysteme zusammensetzt.

Die Daten werden zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten in ein DW geladen. Die neu geladenen Datensätze überschreiben nicht den alten Datenbestand, sondern ergänzen diesen lediglich. Dadurch entsteht jedes Mal eine Momentaufnahme des Unternehmensgeschehens. Dementsprechend lassen sich die Daten über unterschiedliche Zeiträume miteinander vergleichen und Trends identifizieren. 

Was hat der Begriff Business Intelligence (BI) mit Data Warehousing zu tun?

Business Intelligence (BI) umfasst den Zugriff auf Informationen mithilfe von IT-Systemen. Die Analyse, Auswertung und Darstellung der geschäftsrelevanten Unternehmensdaten soll Erkenntnisse über den aktuellen Unternehmensstand liefern. Diese Erkenntnisse tragen massgeblich zur strategischen und operativen Entscheidungsunterstützung bei. Ziel ist es, dem Management hochqualitative Daten zur Verfügung zu stellen und bei seinen Entscheidungen bestmöglich zu unterstützen.

Was ist ein Datenbankmanagementsystem?

  • Ein Datenbankmanagementsystem – auch kurz Datenbanksystem genannt – ist für die Verwaltung grosser Informationsmengen konzipiert worden.
  • Das primäre Ziel eines Datenbanksystems ist es, einen möglichst effizienten und bequemen Weg zum Speichern und Abrufen von Datenbankinformationen zu ermöglichen.
  • Ein Datenbanksystem ist eine organisierte Sammlung von elektronisch strukturierten Informationen oder Daten, die in einem Computersystem gespeichert sind. Innerhalb einer Datenbank können die Daten einfach verwaltet, verändert, aktualisiert und abgerufen werden. 
  • Die Kernaufgabe einer Datenbank liegt in der effizienten, dauerhaften und fehlerfreien Speicherung grosser Datenmengen sowie der bedarfsgerechten Bereitstellung der benötigten Informationen. 

Warum ist der Begriff „Cloud Computing“ wichtig beim Thema Data Warehouse (DW)?

  • Der Name Cloud Computing ist eine Metapher für das Internet. Das Internet wird typischerweise in Netzwerkdiagrammen als Wolke dargestellt.
  • Das Wolkensymbol steht für unbekannte Netzinfrastrukturen, die das Netzwerk zum Funktionieren bringen.
  • Eine der wohl aktuell anerkanntesten Definitionen des Cloud Computing ist die der National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), die auch in Fachkreisen oft herangezogen wird. Das NIST definiert Cloud Computing als ein Modell, welches den allgegenwärtigen, bequemen und bedarfsgerechten Netzwerkzugriff auf einen gemeinsam genutzten Pool konfigurierbarer Rechenressourcen (z. B. Netzwerk, Server, Anwendungen, Dienste und Speicher) ermöglicht.
  • Diese Rechenressourcen können mit minimalem Verwaltungsaufwand oder Interaktion mit dem Dienstanbieter schnell bereitgestellt und freigegeben werden. 

Das Cloud-Modell setzt sich aus drei Dienstmodellen zusammen:

  1. Infrastructure-as-a-Service
  2. Platform as a Service und
  3. Software-as-a-Service).

Das sind die vier Bereitstellungsmodellen von Cloud Computing:

  1. Private,
  2. Public,
  3. Hybrid und
  4. Community Cloud.
  • Im Gegensatz zum Cloud Computing werden Data Warehouse Lösungen auch on-premise zur Verfügung gestellt. 
  • „On-Premises“ bedeutet im Deutschen so viel wie „in den eigenen Räumlichkeiten“ oder „vor Ort“
  • Die Beschreibung von on-premise bezieht sich auf die Nutzung eigener Server und einer eigenen IT-Umgebung.
  • Während der Zugriff in der Cloud über das Internet erfolgt, werden on-premise Lösungen lokal auf dem eigenen Rechner betrieben. 

Mehr wissen?

Sie möchten tiefer in dieses Thema einsteigen? Dann freuen wir uns, Ihnen alle Elemente des Data Warehousings persönlich zu präsentieren – sehr gerne auch kombiniert mit Details zu weiteren Funktionen der SAP Data Warehouse Cloud. Nehmen Sie einfach Kontakt mit uns auf!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin für Data Warehousing
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

Paul Vatter

Leiter Datenwerkstatt

autor:IN

Wie hat Ihnen der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf einen Stern, um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 0 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 0

Bislang keine Stimmen! Seien Sie die erste Person, die diesen Beitrag bewertet!

INFORMATIONEN

Weitere Informationen

SAP Analysis for Microsoft Office vs. SAP Analytics Cloud Excel Add-In: Funktionen und Unterschiede

Dieser Artikel vergleicht die Features und Einsatzmöglichkeiten von SAP Analysis for Microsoft Office (AfO) und dem SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)…

Wiki Big Query SAP Warehousing

Google BigQuery vs. SAP Warehousing

In diesem Wiki-Artikel werden zwei führende Lösungen für die Datenverwaltung und -analyse in der modernen datengetriebenen Welt vorgestellt: Google BigQuery und SAP BW. Beide Systeme bieten leistungsstarke Funktionen, unterscheiden sich jedoch in ihren Ansätzen und Einsatzbereichen.

Wiki SAC GCP Excelimport

SAC & GCP Excel-Import

Der Artikel beschreibt die SAC & GCP Lösung, mit der Excel Plandaten einfach und komfortabel in SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) Modelle importiert werden können. Mit Hilfe von Excel-Templates und einer benutzerfreundlichen Web-Applikation werden die Daten lokal aufbereitet und über die SAC Data Import API automatisiert in das SAC-Modell übertragen.

Titelbild Wiki Was ist Artificial Intelligence (AI) (1)

Was ist Artificial Intelligence (AI)?

Artificial Intelligence steht für Künstliche Intelligenz (KI). Und da es keine allgemein anerkannte philosophische Definition von Intelligenz gibt, lassen sich auch unterschiedliche Auffassungen darüber finden, was Künstliche Intelligenz ist…

Titelbild Wiki Was ist Machine Learning (ML)

Was ist Machine Learning (ML)?

Machine Learning ist die Antwort auf eine der Fragestellungen an eine schwache Künstliche Intelligenz. Es handelt sich um ein fundamentales Konzept, um Algorithmen zu studieren, die sich selbst automatisch aufgrund von Erfahrungen (unter Verwendung von Daten) verbessern…

Wiki How to R - Beginners Guide (1)

How to R – Beginner Guide Zeitreihenanalyse

Wir beschränken uns in diesem kleinen Tutorial darauf, die wesentlichen Schritte in der Zeitreihenanalyse kurz in der Programmiersprache R zu skizzieren…

EU Taxonomie Wiki

EU Taxonomie – Implentierung in einem SAP-Analytics-System

Von der KPI Definition bis zum Reporting: Bewerten Sie Ihre Unternehmens-Aktivitäten Umsatz, CapEx und OpEx gemäss den EU Taxonomie Kriterien. Wir begleiten Sie Schritt für-Schritt bei der erfolgreichen Umsetzung der EU Taxonomie Richtlinien…

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner