fbpx
Home Data Science What is R?

What is R?

R is an open-source language that was developed specifically for data analysis and visualization . This wiki article deals with object-based vs. object-oriented, the R packages and the R package shiny in particular.

Table of contents

The programming language R

R is a programming language developed for statistical applications that is particularly popular in the field of data science. Its core functions lie in the evaluation and visualization of data.

Object-based vs. object-orientation

"Everything that exists is an object. Everything that happens is a function call."(John Chambers)

In R, everything revolves around objects. Not only variables, but also functions, operators and entire expressions that make up an R script are objects. Nevertheless, R is not a completely object-oriented language in the classic sense, such as Java. R supports different "sharp" approaches to object orientation, which would go beyond the scope of this wiki article.

The power of packages

The strength of R lies in the availability of additional functions in the form of so-called packages, which are offered by independent developers all over the world. Over 12,000 of these function packages can be downloaded via the "Comprehensive R Archive Network (CRAN) can be obtained. For every statistical problem, no matter how rare, there is often a suitable ready-to-use solution, which can also be adapted at any time thanks to the open source license.

Execution modes of the programming language

R is an interpreted language by default. This means that the code does not have to be compiled to make it executable, as is the case with C, for example. However, this also makes R code slower to execute than corresponding C code. For the sake of completeness, however, it should also be mentioned that a bytecode compiler also exists in R.

A relatively new way of executing R code is in the form of server-side apps. The shiny package is used for this. It allows web-based applications to be created from input and output elements controlled entirely via R code. In this way, R programs that can be parameterized via standard input elements such as sliders and text boxes can be made accessible to users via the web without them having to install R themselves or understand R code.

 

Do you want to get straight into practice? Here you will find a beginner's guide to time series analysis in R.

Know more?

Would you like to delve deeper into this topic? Then we would be happy to talk to you personally about the areas of application of R - gladly also in connection with analytics products from SAP. Simply get in touch with us!

Your analytics contact
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

Dr. Stefan Lieder

Former Head of Data Science Workshop

author

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on a star to rate!

Average rating 0 / 5.
Number of ratings: 0

No votes so far! Be the first person to rate this post!

INFORMATION

More information

Wiki SAC GCP Excelimport

SAC & GCP Excel import

The article describes the SAC & GCP solution, with which Excel plan data can be easily and conveniently integrated into SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)....

Cover image Wiki What is Artificial Intelligence (AI) (1)

What is Artificial Intelligence (AI)?

Artificial Intelligence stands for artificial intelligence (AI). And since there is no universally accepted philosophical definition of intelligence, different views of what artificial intelligence is can also be found...

Cover image Wiki What is Machine Learning (ML)?

What is Machine Learning (ML)?

Machine Learning is the answer to one of the questions to a weak Artificial Intelligence. It is a fundamental concept to study algorithms that automatically improve themselves based on experience (using data)...

Wiki How to R - Beginners Guide (1)

How to R - Beginner Guide Time Series Analysis

In this small tutorial, we will limit ourselves to briefly outlining the essential steps in time series analysis in the programming language R...

EU Taxonomy Wiki

EU taxonomy - implementation in an SAP Analytics system

From KPI definition to reporting: Evaluate your company's sales, CapEx and OpEx activities in accordance with the EU taxonomy criteria. We accompany you step by step in the successful implementation of the EU taxonomy guidelines...

Wiki SCT

Sustainability Control Tower (SCT)

At a time when sustainable business practices are indispensable, the focus is increasingly on monitoring and recording one's own sustainability performance using precise data. The SAP Sustainability Control Tower is a comprehensive sustainability solution that enables holistic reporting...

Wiki Five sustainability KPIs

The five most important sustainability KPIs

Why do you need sustainability KPIs? What are the 5 most important sustainability KPIs? And why are sustainability KPIs important for your company? These questions are answered in the following article...

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

fbpx
Home Data Science Was ist R?

Was ist R?

R ist eine quelloffene Sprache, die speziell für Datenanalyse und Visualisierung entwickelt wurde. Dieser Wiki-Artikel geht auf Objektbasierung vs. Objektorientierung, die R-Packages und insbesondere auf das R-Package shiny ein.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Die Programmiersprache R

R ist eine für statistische Anwendungen entwickelte Programmiersprache, die vor allem im Bereich Data Science einen hohen Verbreitungsgrad geniesst. Ihre Kernfunktionen liegen in der Auswertung und Visualisierung von Daten.

Objektbasierung vs. Objektorientierung

„Everything that exists is an object. Everything that happens is a function call.“ (John Chambers)

In R dreht sich alles um Objekte. Nicht nur Variablen, auch Funktionen, Operatoren und ganze Ausdrücke, aus denen ein R-Skript aufgebaut ist, sind Objekte. Dennoch ist R keine vollständig objektorientierte Sprache im klassischen Sinne, wie etwa Java. R unterstützt unterschiedlich „scharfe“ Ansätze der Objektorientierung, die zu betrachten über die Zielsetzung dieses Wiki-Artikels hinausginge.

Die Macht der Packages

Die Stärke von R liegt in der Verfügbarkeit von Zusatzfunktionen in Form sogenannter Packages, die von unabhängigen Entwicklern überall auf der Welt angeboten werden. Über 12.000 dieser Funktionspakete können über das „Comprehensive R Archive Network“ (CRAN) bezogen werden. Für jedes statistische Problem, sei es auch noch so selten, gibt es oft schon eine passende gebrauchsfertige Lösung, die Dank der Open-Source-Lizenz aber auch jederzeit angepasst werden kann.

Ausführungsmodi der Programmiersprache

R ist standardmässig eine interpretierte Sprache. Das bedeutet, dass der Code nicht kompiliert werden muss, um ihn lauffähig zu machen, wie das beispielsweise bei C der Fall ist. Dadurch ist ein R-Code allerdings auch langsamer in der Ausführung als ein entsprechender C-Code. Der Vollständigkeit halber sei aber auch erwähnt, dass auch ein Bytecode-Compiler in R existiert.

Eine verhältnismässig neue Art, R-Code auszuführen, ist die in Form serverseitiger Apps. Dazu wird das Package shiny verwendet. Es erlaubt, webbasierte Anwendungen aus vollständig über R-Code gesteuerten Ein- und Ausgabe-Elementen zu erzeugen. Auf diese Weise können R-Programme, die über Standardeingabeelemente wie Schieberegler und Textboxen parametrierbar sind, über das Web Benutzern zugänglich gemacht werden, ohne dass diese selbst R installiert haben oder R-Code verstehen müssen.

 

Sie wollen direkt in die Praxis einsteigen? Hier finden Sie einen Beginner’s Guide für die Zeitreihenanalyse in R.

Mehr wissen?

Sie möchten tiefer in dieses Thema einsteigen? Dann freuen wir uns, persönlich mit Ihnen über die Anwendungsbereiche von R zu sprechen – gerne auch im Zusammenhang mit Analytics-Produkten der SAP. Nehmen Sie einfach Kontakt mit uns auf!

Ihre Analytics Ansprechpartnerin
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

Dr. Stefan Lieder

ehem. Leiter Data Science Werkstatt

autor:IN

Wie hat Ihnen der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf einen Stern, um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 0 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 0

Bislang keine Stimmen! Seien Sie die erste Person, die diesen Beitrag bewertet!

INFORMATIONEN

Weitere Informationen

Wiki SAC GCP Excelimport

SAC & GCP Excel-Import

Der Artikel beschreibt die SAC & GCP Lösung, mit der Excel Plandaten einfach und komfortabel in SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)…

Titelbild Wiki Was ist Artificial Intelligence (AI) (1)

Was ist Artificial Intelligence (AI)?

Artificial Intelligence steht für Künstliche Intelligenz (KI). Und da es keine allgemein anerkannte philosophische Definition von Intelligenz gibt, lassen sich auch unterschiedliche Auffassungen darüber finden, was Künstliche Intelligenz ist…

Titelbild Wiki Was ist Machine Learning (ML)

Was ist Machine Learning (ML)?

Machine Learning ist die Antwort auf eine der Fragestellungen an eine schwache Künstliche Intelligenz. Es handelt sich um ein fundamentales Konzept, um Algorithmen zu studieren, die sich selbst automatisch aufgrund von Erfahrungen (unter Verwendung von Daten) verbessern…

Wiki How to R - Beginners Guide (1)

How to R – Beginner Guide Zeitreihenanalyse

Wir beschränken uns in diesem kleinen Tutorial darauf, die wesentlichen Schritte in der Zeitreihenanalyse kurz in der Programmiersprache R zu skizzieren…

EU Taxonomie Wiki

EU Taxonomie – Implentierung in einem SAP-Analytics-System

Von der KPI Definition bis zum Reporting: Bewerten Sie Ihre Unternehmens-Aktivitäten Umsatz, CapEx und OpEx gemäss den EU Taxonomie Kriterien. Wir begleiten Sie Schritt für-Schritt bei der erfolgreichen Umsetzung der EU Taxonomie Richtlinien…

Wiki SCT

Sustainability Control Tower (SCT)

In einer Zeit, in der nachhaltiges Wirtschaften unabdingbar ist, steht die Überwachung und Erfassung der eigenen Nachhaltigkeitsleistung durch präzise Daten immer mehr im Mittelpunkt. Eine umfassende Nachhaltigkeitslösung, die ein ganzheitliches Reporting ermöglicht, ist der SAP Sustainability Control Tower…

Wiki 5 Sustainability KPIs

Die 5 wichtigsten Sustainability KPIs

Wozu benötigt man Kennzahlen im Nachhaltigkeitsbereich? Was sind die 5 wichtigsten Sustainability KPIs? Und warum sind Sustainability KPIs wichtig für Ihr Unternehmen? Diese Fragen werden im nachfolgenden Artikel beantwortet…

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner