fbpx
Home Success Stories New ways for SBB AG - Well "up and running" with the automated and cloud-based planning tool: The SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)

New routes for SBB AG: Well on track with the automated and cloud-based SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) planning tool

A brief introduction to SBB AG

The Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) is based in Bern and is Switzerland's state-owned railway company. In terms of both passenger transport and turnover, SBB is now one of the largest railway companies in Europe. Every day, more than 840,000 passengers and 185,000 net tonnes of goods are transported. SBB is not only active in passenger and freight transport, but also covers the two business areas of infrastructure and real estate.

SBB's previous planning tool had grown historically in recent years and no longer met current requirements. There was a great desire for a higher-performance planning tool, which is why the old planning tool for the corporate division was replaced by a new automated, cloud-based planning tool in the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) with the support of s-peers AG. The SAC was embedded in the previous infrastructure.

The project: Implementation of a cloud-based planning tool in the SAC

Until the time of the changeover, there was an Excel and Access-based planning tool, which was replaced by SAC and integrated into the SBB infrastructure. The data for planning comes from other SAP source systems (SAP BW on HANA, SAP BPC) and from different Excel files.

The new planning tool was to be cross-divisional and thus be set up for various SBB divisions. The integration was started with all divisions except for the IT division. Preparing the files with the previous planning tool was very time-consuming, resulting in long waiting times. In addition, the tool was not user-friendly and had poor performance. Based on these criteria, the following requirements for the new planning tool emerged: (1) high degree of user-friendliness, (2) reliability, (3) performance, (4) usability and (5) ensuring the transfer of know-how to the planning tool users.

The project process and coaching approach at SBB AG

The implementation of the entire project took five months (from 01.2020 to 05.2020). The project start was shortly before the first Corona lockdown. Due to the ambitious timing of five months and the Corona lockdown, an agile project management approach became more and more important for the successful project completion.

In order to understand the complex planning process and map the interrelationships, a lot of work was done with flipcharts, whiteboards and other visualisation options at the beginning. In just a few months, the agile and cross-departmental team developed a forward-looking planning tool that could be integrated into the existing tool landscape without any problems.

The interdisciplinary project team consisted of eight project members (six from SBB and two from s-peers AG). From the SBB side, two project coordinators, two people responsible for coordinating the entire planning, one employee from the IT department and one employee from the Analytics department were involved. The two project members from s-peers AG were advisors to the reporting workshop (Analytics | Planning | Reporting).

The coaching approach and the high commitment of the team in particular contributed to the success of the entire project. The user experience was the focus at every stage of the project, which led to continuous training of the users and a high acceptance of the new system. Whenever a new feature was ready for testing, users were involved promptly and the resulting feedback was integrated immediately. During the Corona crisis and the associated home office duty, communication was maintained at all times and, contrary to expectations, did not lead to any major restrictions on project work. Due to the high transparency and the constant exchange with the users, the quality could ultimately be improved and ensured.

The integration of the solution: Description of the Planning tool for the finance department

(1) Cost Driver Planning, (2) External Employee Planning, (3) Third Party Income Statement Planning, (4) Internal Activity Allocation Planning, (5) Projects Planning, (6) Related Planning Documents, (7) Group Division Reporting and (8) Group Division Total Reporting.

Project reflection and outlook for further Developments with the SAC at SBB AG

The project was able to achieve the goal of mapping the integrated planning of the various group divisions in only one tool . The planning tool was initially created for all group divisions, excluding IT, but is scalable and can therefore be adapted to and adopted by other divisions without much effort. The reliable planning tool ensures high performance and the users save a lot of time thanks to the fast data processing and the associated short turnaround times. By means of automation , the data quality and the work process have been significantly improved. In addition, the planning tool is easy and intuitive to use for the users. Another major improvement lies in the decentralisation of know-how - in fact, great importance was attached to comprehensive know-how development and knowledge transfer. Detailed documentation of the new planning tool has been prepared for uniform dissemination of the application. Thus, the respective processes are standardised and the knowledge is passed on uniformly. The cloud-based tool offers the possibility to flexibly call up the planning with the improved performance from anywhere. Last but not least, SAC ensures the reliability and stability of the planning process.

The coaching approach used by s-peers AG in this project was highlighted as particularly innovative. In contrast to a classic consultancy - where the requirements are implemented directly - the consultants assisted the SBB project team with a mixture of tool training, support and advice. In this way, the knowledge can be built up in the long term and sustainably at SBB and can also be used for the next projects in the future.

So far, the planning tool has been implemented for a total of 27 users; in the next one and a half years, the planning tool is to be expanded to 100 additional users. As requested, the planning tool was initially set up for the group divisions. With regard to a possible extension of the scope of the planning tool, care is taken to continue to maintain the high acceptance of the new planning tool by involving the users at an early stage.

 

Sarah Siegfried, Innovation Engineer Finance, SBB AG

Published by:

Dr. Eric Trumm

Head of data science and innovation

AUTHOR:IN

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on the stars to rate!

Average rating 4.3 / 5.
Number of ratings: 3

No reviews yet! Be the first to rate this post.

Other interesting articles

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Home Success Stories Neue Wege für die SBB AG – Gut «aufgegleist» mit dem automatisierten und cloudbasierten Planungstool: Der SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)

Neue Wege für die SBB AG – Gut «aufgegleist» mit dem automatisierten und cloudbasierten Planungstool: Der SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)

Die SBB AG in Kürze vorgestellt

Die Schweizerische Bundesbahnen AG (SBB) hat ihren Sitz in Bern und ist die staatliche Eisenbahngesellschaft der Schweiz. Sowohl bei der Personenbeförderung als auch beim Umsatz zählt die SBB heute zu den grössten Bahnunternehmen in Europa. Täglich werden über 840 000 Reisende und 185 000 Nettotonnen Güter befördert. Die SBB ist nicht nur im Personen – sowie Güterverkehr vertreten, sondern deckt auch die beiden Geschäftsbereiche Infrastruktur und Immobilien ab.

Das bisherige Planungstool der SBB ist in den letzten Jahren historisch gewachsen und entsprach nicht mehr den aktuellen Anforderungen. Der Wunsch nach einem performanteren Planungstool war gross, weshalb mit Unterstützung der s-peers AG das alte Planungstool für den Konzernbereich abgelöst und durch ein neues automatisiertes, cloudbasiertes Planungstool in der SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) ersetzt wurde. Die SAC wurde dabei in die bisherige Infrastruktur eingebettet.

Das Projekt: Implementierung eines cloudbasierten Planungstools in der SAC

Bis zum Zeitpunkt der Umstellung gab es ein Excel – und Access-basiertes Planungstool, welches durch die SAC ersetzt und dabei in die Infrastruktur der SBB integriert wurde. Die Daten für die Planung kommen von anderen SAP Quellsystemen (SAP BW on HANA, SAP BPC) und aus unterschiedlichen Excel-Dateien.

Das neue Planungstool sollte bereichsübergreifend sein und somit für verschiedene Konzernbereiche der SBB aufgebaut werden. Gestartet wurde die Einbindung mit allen Konzernbereichen bis auf den IT-Bereich. Das Aufbereiten der Dateien war mit dem vorherigen Planungstool sehr zeitintensiv, woraus sich lange Wartezeiten ergaben. Außerdem wies das Tool eine mangelnde Benutzerfreundlichkeit und schlechte Performance auf. Anhand dieser Kriterien ergaben sich folgende Anforderungen an das neue Planungstool: (1) hohes Mass an Benutzerfreundlichkeit, (2) Zuverlässigkeit, (3) Performance, (4) Usability und (5) Sicherstellung des Know-how Transfers an die Planungstoolnutzer.

Der Projektablauf und Coaching-Ansatz bei der SBB AG

Die Umsetzung des gesamten Projekts dauerte fünf Monate (vom 01.2020 bis 05.2020). Der Projektstart war kurz vor dem ersten Corona-Lockdown. Aufgrund des ambitionierten Timings von fünf Monaten und dem coronabedingten Lockdown wurde ein agiler Projektmanagementansatz für den erfolgreichen Projektabschluss immer mehr von Bedeutung.

Um den komplexen Planungsprozess zu verstehen und die Zusammenhänge abzubilden, wurde zu Beginn viel mit Flipcharts, Whiteboards und anderen Visualisierungsmöglichkeiten gearbeitet. Das agile und abteilungsübergreifende Team entwickelte in nur wenigen Monaten ein zukunftsweisendes Planungstool, das sich ohne Probleme in die bestehende Toollandschaft integrieren liess.

Das interdisziplinäre Projektteam bestand aus acht Projektmitgliedern (sechs seitens der SBB und zwei seitens der s-peers AG). Von der SBB aus beteiligt waren zwei Projektkoordinatoren, zwei Verantwortliche für die Koordinierung der gesamten Planung, ein Mitarbeiter aus der IT-Abteilung und ein Mitarbeiter aus der Analytics Abteilung. Die beiden Projektmitglieder von Seiten der s-peers AG waren Berater der Berichtewerkstatt (Analytics | Planning | Reporting).

Zu dem Erfolg des gesamten Projekts hat insbesondere der Coaching-Ansatz und das hohe Engagement des Teams beigetragen. Die User Experience stand zu jedem Zeitpunkt des Projekts im Mittelpunkt, was zu einer kontinuierlichen Schulung der Nutzer und zu einer hohen Akzeptanz des neuen Systems geführt hat. Wann immer eine neue Funktion zum Testen bereit stand, wurden die Anwender zeitnah miteinbezogen und das daraus resultierende Feedback umgehend integriert. Während der Corona-Krise und der damit einhergehenden Homeoffice-Pflicht wurde die Kommunikation zu jeder Zeit aufrechterhalten und führte, entgegen den Erwartungen, zu keinen grossen Einschränkungen der Projektarbeit. Durch die hohe Transparenz und den stetigen Austausch mit den Anwendern konnte die Qualität letztendlich verbessert und sichergestellt werden.

Die Einbindung der Lösung: Beschreibung des Planungstools für die Finanzabteilung

(1) Kostentreiberplanung, (2) Planung externer Mitarbeiter, (3) Erfolgsrechnung Planung Dritte, (4) Interne Leistungsverrechnung Planung, (5) Planung Projekte, (6) zugehörige Planungsdokumente, (7) Konzernbereiche Reporting und (8) Konzernbereiche-Total Reporting.

Projektreflektion und Ausblick auf weitere Entwicklungen mit der SAC bei der SBB AG

Das Ziel, die integrierte Planung der verschiedenen Konzernbereiche in nur einem einzigen Tool abzubilden, konnte durch das Projekt erreicht werden. Das Planungstool wurde zunächst für alle Konzernbereiche, exklusive IT, erstellt, ist jedoch skalierbar und kann daher ohne großen Aufwand an weitere Divisionen angepasst und dort übernommen werden. Durch das zuverlässige Planungstool ist eine hohe Performance gewährleistet und die User erlangen dank der schnellen Datenverarbeitung und der damit verbundenen kurzen Durchlaufzeiten eine große Zeitersparnis. Mittels der Automatisierung wurde die Datenqualität sowie der Arbeitsprozess deutlich verbessert. Zudem ist das Planungstool für die Nutzer einfach und intuitiv in der Bedienung. Eine weitere große Verbesserung liegt in der Dezentralisierung des Know-hows – vielmehr wurde großen Wert auf einen umfassenden Know-how Aufbau und Wissenstransfer gelegt. Für die einheitliche Weitergabe der Anwendung wurde eine ausführliche Dokumentation des neuen Planungstools erstellt. Damit sind die jeweiligen Prozesse standardisiert und das Wissen wird einheitlich weitergegeben. Das cloudbasierte Tool bietet die Möglichkeit, die Planung mit der verbesserten Performance flexibel von überall aufzurufen. Nicht zuletzt wird mit der SAC die Zuverlässigkeit und Stabilität des Planungsprozesses gewährleistet.

Als besonders innovativ wurde der in diesem Projekt angewandte Coaching-Ansatz der s-peers AG hervorgehoben. Im Gegensatz zu einer klassischen Beratung – bei der die Anforderungen direkt umgesetzt werden – standen die Berater dem Projektteam der SBB mit einer Mischung aus Tool-Schulung, Support und Beratung zur Seite. Auf diese Weise kann das Wissen langfristig und nachhaltig bei der SBB aufgebaut und zukünftig auch für die nächsten Projekte genutzt werden.

Bisher wurde das Planungstool für insgesamt 27 Nutzer implementiert, in den nächsten eineinhalb Jahren soll das Planungstool auf 100 zusätzliche Nutzer ausgeweitet werden. Wie gewünscht wurde das Planungstool zunächst für die Konzernbereiche aufgebaut. Bezüglich einer möglichen Erweiterung des Anwendungsbereichs des Planungstools wird darauf geachtet, auch weiterhin durch einen frühzeitigen Einbezug der Anwender die hohe Akzeptanz des neuen Planungstools aufrechtzuerhalten.

 

Sarah Siegfried, Innovation Engineer Finanzen, SBB AG

Published by:

Dr. Eric Trumm

Head of Innovation

AUTOR:IN

Wie hat der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicke auf die Sterne um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 2

Bisher keine Bewertungen! Sei der Erste, der diesen Beitrag bewertet.

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on xing
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Andere interessante Artikel