fbpx
Home Success Stories Success Story Starrag AG: Management Cockpit

Success Story Starrag AG: Management Cockpit

Navigating to success with a clear view: Design and implementation of a management cockpit using the SAP Analyitcs Cloud (SAC)

Starrag AG was faced with the challenge of automating manual processes in the finance department, in particular the time-consuming preparation of monthly reporting. The decision was made to implement the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC), supported by the expertise of s-peers AG.

With the help of SAC, various models were created for the income statement, balance sheet, HR data and more by importing master data and transaction data from SAP S/4 Simple Finance. A comprehensive management cockpit was developed that enables a standardized presentation and export options to PowerPoint.

The result: The Management Cockpit meets the requirements of the CFO of Starrag AG and provides a quick overview of important key figures for actual, budget and forecast. Detailed analyses of sales, EBIT, incoming orders, key personnel figures and more are now possible.

Challenges and starting point for the project

The finance department of Starrag AG launched a finance transformation project in 2022. Among other things, manual processes were to be automated as far as possible. One important process is the preparation of monthly reporting. This requires a lot of data from various sources, such as financial, HR and order data. Previously, this data was laboriously downloaded from SAP and other upstream systems, imported into Excel, processed there and finally prepared with tables and graphics. This was very time-consuming. In order to spend this valuable time analyzing the data rather than preparing it, reporting was to be switched to a new system. The decision was made in favor of the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC). Knowing that there were no internal resources available to cover this area, s-peers AG was called in to provide technological and specialist support.

"Thanks to the professional expertise of s-peers, we were able to largely automate our monthly reporting and use it perfectly for our recurring monthly presentations. We have always felt very well understood, which is reflected in the excellent result. The specialist departments can now concentrate on analyzing the data instead of having to spend a lot of time processing it."
Thomas Erne
Thomas Erne
CFO Starrag Group

The implemented solution - A comprehensive management cockpit

SAC was used to create various models for the income statement, balance sheet, accounts receivable, HR data and machine utilization. Both master data and transaction data were imported from Central Finance via CDS views. In addition, data for incoming orders and order backlog was prepared in Excel and also imported into a model in SAC.

All this data was brought together in a comprehensive management cockpit. A template was defined for this so that all pages are structured in the same way and export to PowerPoint can be guaranteed later. In addition, s-peers AG advised Starrag AG on the concept of IBCS (International Business Communication Standards), which was also incorporated into the report. This helps to prepare a report clearly and to be able to analyze the key figures quickly.

Results achieved through the implemented Management Cockpit

s-peers AG was able to create the Management Cockpit within the agreed time frame to the complete satisfaction of the CFO of Starrag AG, Thomas Erne. All desired data could be prepared according to the requirements. The most important key figures for actual, budget and forecast are displayed on a dashboard together with the respective deviations for an initial overview.

The following pages provide further details on net sales and EBIT, order intake and order backlog, FTE (key personnel figures), accounts receivable and inventories. The figures are broken down into individual months, business units, regions and market segments. Depending on availability, budget, forecast and previous year are also displayed for the detailed data, and the respective deviations are calculated and displayed.

The controllers in the plants and the global controlling department can now export the Management Cockpit to PowerPoint at the touch of a button and also comment on their analysis of the data there.

Dashboard Management Cockpit Starrag AG
Dashboard
Order intake details Management Cockpit Starrag AG
Incoming order details

Benefits of the solution

  • Possibility of continuous analysis of the figures, starting in the SAC and ending with the posting document
  • Time savings through automated processes
  • High transparency for business managers
  • Good comparability of the business units' results
  • Consistent and clear presentation of data through clear visualization, which self-explanatorily directs the focus to deviations
  • Integration and merging of data from different sources

Technologies used in this project

Published by:

Patricia Ahrend

Senior Analytics Consultant

AUTHOR:IN

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on the stars to rate!

Average rating 5 / 5.
Number of ratings: 8

No reviews yet! Be the first to rate this post.

Other interesting articles

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

fbpx
Home Success Stories Success Story Starrag AG: Management Cockpit

Success Story Starrag AG: Management Cockpit

Mit klarer Sicht zum Erfolg navigieren: Konzeption und Implementierung eines Management Cockpits mittels der SAP Analyitcs Cloud (SAC)

Die Starrag AG stand vor der Herausforderung, manuelle Prozesse in der Finanzabteilung zu automatisieren, insbesondere die aufwändige Erstellung des Monatsreportings. Die Entscheidung fiel auf die Implementierung der SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC), unterstützt durch die Expertise der s-peers AG.

Mithilfe der SAC wurden verschiedene Modelle für die Erfolgsrechnung, Bilanz, HR-Daten und mehr erstellt, indem Stammdaten und Transaktionsdaten aus dem SAP S/4 Simple Finance importiert wurden. Ein umfangreiches Management Cockpit wurde entwickelt, das eine einheitliche Darstellung und Exportmöglichkeiten nach PowerPoint ermöglicht.

Das Ergebnis: Das Management Cockpit erfüllt die Anforderungen des CFO der Starrag AG und bietet einen schnellen Überblick über wichtige Kennzahlen für Actual, Budget und Forecast. Detaillierte Analysen zu Umsatz, EBIT, Auftragseingang, Personalkennzahlen und mehr sind nun möglich.

Herausforderungen und Ausgangslage für das Projekt

Die Finanzabteilung der Starrag AG startete in 2022 ein Projekt für eine Finance Transformation. Dabei sollten u.a. manuelle Prozesse weitestgehend automatisiert werden. Ein wichtiger Prozess ist die Erstellung des Monatsreportings. Dafür müssen viele Daten aus den verschiedensten Quellen herangezogen werden, bspw. Finanz-, HR- und Auftragsdaten. Bisher wurden diese Daten aufwändig aus dem SAP und anderen Vorsystemen heruntergeladen, in Excel importiert, dort weiterverarbeitet und schliesslich mit Tabellen und Grafiken aufbereitet. Dies war sehr zeitaufwändig. Um diese wertvolle Zeit nicht mit dem Aufbereiten von Daten, sondern viel mehr mit der Analyse der Daten zu verbringen, sollte das Reporting auf ein neues System umgestellt werden. Die Entscheidung fiel dabei auf die SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC). Wissend, dass intern keine Ressourcen zur Verfügung stehen, die diesen Themenbereich abdecken können, wurde die s-peers AG für technologische und fachliche Unterstützung hinzugezogen.

"Durch die fachkundige Expertise von s-peers konnten wir unser monatliches Reporting grösstenteils automatisieren und perfekt für unsere wiederkehrenden Monatspräsentationen nutzen. Wir haben uns stets sehr gut verstanden gefühlt, was sich in dem hervorragenden Ergebnis widerspiegelt. Die Fachabteilungen können sich nun auf die Analyse der Daten konzentrieren, statt diese zeitintensiv aufarbeiten zu müssen."
Thomas Erne
Thomas Erne
CFO Starrag Group

Die implementierte Lösung - Ein umfangreiches Management Cockpit

Mithilfe der SAC wurden verschiedene Modelle für die Erfolgsrechnung, Bilanz, Accounts Receivable, HR-Daten sowie Maschinenauslastung erstellt. Sowohl Stammdaten als auch Transaktionsdaten wurden via CDS-Views aus dem Central Finance importiert. Zusätzlich wurden für Auftragseingang und Auftragsbestand Daten im Excel aufbereitet und ebenfalls in ein Modell in der SAC importiert.

Die Zusammenführung all dieser Daten erfolgte in einem umfangreichen Management Cockpit. Hierfür wurde ein Template definiert, so dass alle Seiten gleich aufgebaut sind und später ein Export nach PowerPoint gewährleistet werden kann. Zusätzlich hat die s-peers AG die Starrag AG bzgl. des Konzepts der IBCS (International Business Communication Standards) beraten, welches ebenfalls in den Report mit einfloss. Dies hilft dabei einen Bericht übersichtlich aufzubereiten und die Kennzahlen schnell analysieren zu können.

Erzielte Ergebnisse durch das implementierte Management Cockpit

Die s-peers AG konnte innerhalb des vereinbarten Zeitrahmens das Management Cockpit zur vollsten Zufriedenheit des CFO der Starrag AG, Thomas Erne, erstellen. Alle gewünschten Daten konnten den Anforderungen entsprechend aufbereitet werden. Auf einem Dashboard werden die wichtigsten Kennzahlen für Actual, Budget und Forecast nebst den jeweiligen Abweichungen für einen ersten Überblick angezeigt.

Auf den folgenden Seiten werden weitere Details zu Net Sales und EBIT, Auftragseingang und Auftragsbestand, FTE (Personalkennzahlen), Accounts Receivable und den Lagervorräten dargestellt. Dabei werden die Zahlen u.a. auf die Einzelmonate, die Business Units, die Regionen und die Marktsegmente heruntergebrochen. Auch bei den detaillierten Daten werden je nach Verfügbarkeit Budget, Forecast und Vorjahr angezeigt, die jeweiligen Abweichungen berechnet und dargestellt.

Die Controller:innen in den Werken und die globale Controlling-Abteilung können das Management Cockpit nun per Knopfdruck nach PowerPoint exportieren und dort ihre Analyse der Daten zusätzlich kommentieren.

Dashboard Management Cockpit Starrag AG
Dashboard
Auftragseingangsdetails Management Cockpit Starrag AG
Auftragseingangsdetails

Benefits der Lösung

  • Möglichkeit der durchgängigen Analyse der Zahlen, startend in der SAC, endend beim Buchungsbeleg
  • Zeitersparnis durch automatisierte Prozesse
  • Hohe Transparenz für die Business-Verantwortlichen
  • Gute Vergleichbarkeit der Ergebnisse der Business Units
  • Einheitliche und übersichtliche Darstellung der Daten durch klare Visualisierung, die selbsterklärend den Fokus auf Abweichungen lenkt
  • Integration und Zusammenführung von Daten aus verschiedenen Quellen

In diesem Projekt verwendete Technologien

Published by:

Patricia Ahrend

Senior Analytics Consultant

AUTOR:IN

Wie hat der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicke auf die Sterne um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 8

Bisher keine Bewertungen! Sei der Erste, der diesen Beitrag bewertet.

Andere interessante Artikel

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner