Management Information Design: Apply International Business Communication Standards (IBCS) and benefit from a faster and better understanding!

What is Management Information Design and IBCS®-compliant reporting? How can IBCS®-compliant reporting be realised with SAP BI Add-ons? What are the concrete advantages of IBCS®-compliant reporting with SAP BI Add-ons? These and other questions are answered here.

Through IBCS you take internal and external reporting to a new level

Standardisation of reporting

Standardise your reports and presentations to include IBCS®.

Control of the KPIs

Implementation of an end-to-end and cross-technology control of your key performance indicators.

Value driver tree

Support with regard to mapping your business models and value chains.

Customised, IBCS-compliant dashboards

Development, design and implementation of dynamic, customised dashboards.

Management information design seminar

The Management Information Design Solutions:

Corporate Treasury
(SAC Cash Panel)

Reduction to the essentials Fast acquisition and pattern recognition for the reader

High information density (incl. comparison possibilities)

Consistent standardisation through uniform visual language

Consistent structures and clear messages

FINMA Panel

FINMA is the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority: abbreviated to FINMA.

FINMA Reporting offers a standard reporting model based on IBCS. 

Special focus on the industry: insurance

Optimal report quality through Management Information Design

Solutions: SAC Cash Panel

Reporting is the basis of successful entrepreneurial action: On the one hand, reporting serves management as a basis for effective and goal-oriented planning, controlling and decision-making. On the other hand, external investors and lenders examine the company's development on the basis of key figures in order to be able to make precise investment decisions. At the same time, there is also a reporting obligation towards state institutions (e.g. tax or financial market supervisory authorities).

In practice, however, the opposite is still often the case: reports and analyses often do not use a uniform notation. This manifests itself, for example, in unclear tables, distorted representations, inappropriate diagrams, confusing graphic presentations, excessive report volumes or even the seemingly arbitrary use of colours. In such cases, all the recipients of the report mentioned at the beginning run the risk of making suboptimal or worse decisions on the basis of missing, incomplete and/or misleading information.

The quality of the reporting is of fundamental importance in each case: the reports must be as informative as possible in order to be recorded and interpreted by the recipients as quickly, precisely and unambiguously as possible. The basic prerequisite for this is an adequate presentation of the contents - ideally by means of standardised notation concepts for visualisation.

 
DANGERS
What happens - when IBCS Standard is NOT used

"In practice, management information designs - such as IBCS - are often not applied: reports and analyses often do not use a uniform notation. This manifests itself, for example, in unclear tables, distorted representations, inappropriate diagrams, confusing graphic presentations, too large report volumes or even in the seemingly arbitrary use of colours. In such cases, all the recipients of the report mentioned at the beginning run the risk of making suboptimal or worse decisions on the basis of missing, incomplete and/or misleading information.

Because only information that is as well prepared and visualised as possible in reporting (both internally and externally) can be used as efficiently and advantageously as possible. Thus, it is important to ensure the uniform understanding and the identical interpretation of contents comprehensively and sustainably: clearly, quickly and precisely mapped data are increasingly becoming a success-relevant or literally decisive factor."

Philipp May, senior SAP Analytics consultant
Philipp May
Head of reporting workshop

What technologies do we use for reporting?

SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)

SAP Crystal Reports

SAP BOBI Suite including Lumira and Analysis for Office

Checklist s-peers AG

FAQs Management Information Design

Appropriate information design ensures that decision-relevant information is made available to the respective report recipients in a precise, transparent, comparable and addressee-appropriate manner. The basis for this are defined standards for the visual preparation of information - in the form of uniform notation concepts.
In other fields, such nomenclatures have already been used successfully for a very long time. A particularly striking example is the field of music: thanks to the internationally valid notation, musicians with different mother tongues can easily communicate and cooperate with each other on stage. Maps, construction plans or electronic circuit diagrams are also uniformly and unmistakably legible worldwide.
Which in turn clearly confirms: Visual recognition plays a central role in the efficient recording, analysis, understanding and interpretation of complex amounts of information (i.e. data) - provided that certain laws are observed. In business administration, the principles of information design are applied in this regard. Their practical application offers companies the opportunity to successfully take their internal and external reporting to a new level.

The IBCS® (International Business Communication Standards®) based on the SUCCESS reference framework by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Hichert aim at maximum transparency in reporting, business communication and presentation design. These notation standards form the basis for optimal, practice-oriented information design according to the following principles:

S AY Get the message across

U NIFY Apply semantic notation

C ONDENSE Increase information density

C HECK Ensure visual integrity

E XPRESS Select suitable visualisation

S IMPLIFY Avoid the superfluous

S TRUCTURE Organise content

Source: https://www.ibcs.com/de/standards

  • Report messages are directly visible
  • Contents are structured in a uniform, non-overlapping and exhaustive manner
  • Decoration is eliminated, instead clear information is present
  • Value and measurement variables are defined
  • Contents are condensed
  • Reporting errors are eliminated as part of the project

Dashboards present all important and success-relevant information graphically or in tabular form on one screen - condensed, highly aggregated, clear and transparent. In this way, all relevant key figures can be recorded and monitored at a glance. Drill-downs and options for data filtering are often available to enable the most effective and goal-oriented work possible.

Optimal information design is also crucial for dashboards, as the collection of information is oriented towards the principles of visual human perception. Thus, the design should be as comprehensible and descriptive as possible - ideally based on the quasi-standard IBCS® and accompanied by simple, intuitive operation by the user.

Compared to conventional reporting solutions, dashboard information is not presented in a print-optimised way, but specifically for on-screen capture. The arrangement of the related information details therefore fits on one or a few screen pages. In this way, only what is really relevant is compressed into a format that is quick and easy to understand.

KNOWLEDGE

Useful information

Webinar with William Kotterla

Group Liquidity Management Dashboard

In this webinar we present the s-peers SAC Cash Panel. This solution allows - in the form of a unified reporting platform...

Navigation systems according to IBCS®

Navigation systems according to IBCS®

The IBCS® standards are proving helpful in standardizing reporting within a company and thus facilitating the evaluation...

Performance measurement What difference does the presentation of KPIs make

Performance measurement: What does the presentation of KPIs matter?

The definition of entrepreneurial goals (e.g. a 5% increase in turnover) is always done by means of so-called key performance indicators (KPIs).

More information

Further analytics solutions

Management Information Design: International Business Communication Standards (IBCS) anwenden und von einem schnelleren und besseren Verständnis profitieren!

Was ist Management Information Design und IBCS®-konformes Reporting? Wie lassen sich IBCS®-konformes Reporting mit SAP BI Add-ons realisieren? Was sind konkrete Vorteile vom IBCS®-konformen Reporting mit SAP BI Add-ons? Diese und weitere Fragen werden hier beantwortet.

Durch IBCS bringen Sie das interne und externe Berichtswesen auf ein neues Level

Standardisierung des Reportings

Standardisierung Ihrer Berichte und Präsentationen unter Einbeziehung der IBCS®.

Steuerung der KPIs

Implementierung einer durchgehenden und technologieübergreifenden Steuerung Ihrer wesentlichen erfolgskritischen Kennzahlen.

Werttreiberbaum

Unterstützung im Hinblick auf die Abbildung Ihrer Geschäftsmodelle und Wertschöpfungsketten.

Customized, IBCS-konforme Dashboards

Entwicklung, Aufbau und Implementierung dynamischer, kundenindividueller Dashboards.

Seminar Management Information Design

Die Management Information Design Lösungen:

Corporate Treasury
(SAC Cash Panel)

Reduktion auf das Wesentliche Schnelle Erfassung und Mustererkennung für den Leser 

Hohe Informationsdichte (inkl. Vergleichsmöglichkeiten) 

Konsequente Standardisierung durch einheitliche Bildsprache 

Konsistente Strukturen und klare Botschaften 

FINMA Panel

Die FINMA ist die  Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht in der Schweiz: abgekürzt FINMA.

Das FINMA Reporting bietet ein Standard Reporting Modell auf Basis von IBCS. 

Besonderer Fokus auf die Branche: Versicherung

Optimale Berichtsqualität mittel Management Information Design

Lösungen: SAC Cash Panel

Das Berichtswesen ist die Grundlage erfolgreichen unternehmerischen Handelns: Einerseits dient das Reporting dem Management als Basis für effektives sowie zielorientiertes Planen, Steuern und Entscheiden. Andererseits prüfen externe Investoren und Kreditgeber die Unternehmensentwicklung anhand zentraler Kennzahlen, um präzise Investitionsentscheidungen treffen zu können. Parallel besteht auch Berichtspflicht gegenüber staatlichen Institutionen (z. B. Steuer- oder Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörden).

In der Praxis ist jedoch bislang häufig noch das Gegenteil der Fall: Oft wird bei Berichten und Analysen auf eine einheitliche Notation verzichtet. Dies äussert sich z. B. in unübersichtlichen Tabellen, verzerrten Darstellungen, unzweckmässigen Diagrammen, verwirrenden grafischen Aufbereitungen, zu grossen Berichtsumfängen oder auch im willkürlich anmutenden Einsatz von Farben. In solchen Fällen laufen alle eingangs genannten Berichtsempfänger Gefahr, suboptimale bzw. schlechtere Entscheidungen auf Basis fehlender, unvollständiger und/oder irreführender Informationen zu treffen.

Die Qualität des Reportings ist dabei jeweils von elementarer Bedeutung: Die Berichte müssen eine möglichst hohe Aussagekraft aufweisen, um von den Empfängern maximal schnell, präzise und unmissverständlich erfasst bzw. interpretiert werden zu können. Grundvoraussetzung hierfür ist eine adäquate Darstellung der Inhalte – idealerweise mittels standardisierter Notationskonzepte für die Visualisierung.

 
GEFAHREN
Was passiert - wenn IBCS Standard NICHT verwendet werden

„In der Praxis werden häufig Management Information Designs - wie IBCS - nicht werdet: Oft wird bei Berichten und Analysen auf eine einheitliche Notation verzichtet. Dies äussert sich z. B. in unübersichtlichen Tabellen, verzerrten Darstellungen, unzweckmässigen Diagrammen, verwirrenden grafischen Aufbereitungen, zu grossen Berichtsumfängen oder auch im willkürlich anmutenden Einsatz von Farben. In solchen Fällen laufen alle eingangs genannten Berichtsempfänger Gefahr, suboptimale bzw. schlechtere Entscheidungen auf Basis fehlender, unvollständiger und/oder irreführender Informationen zu treffen.

Denn nur möglichst gut aufbereitete und visualisierte Informationen im Berichtswesen (intern wie extern) lassen sich möglichst effizient und vorteilhaft nutzen. Somit gilt es, das einheitliche Verständnis und die identische Interpretation von Inhalten umfassend und nachhaltig zu gewährleisten: Übersichtlich, schnell und präzise abgebildete Daten werden zunehmend zum erfolgsrelevanten bzw. buchstäblich entscheidenden Faktor.“

Philipp May Senior SAP Analytics Consultant
Philipp May
Leiter Berichtewerkstatt

Welche Technologien verwenden wir für das Reporting?

SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)

SAP Crystal Reports

SAP BOBI Suite inklusive Lumira und Analysis for Office

Checkliste s-peers AG

FAQs Management Information Design

Ein entsprechendes Information Design stellt sicher, dass entscheidungsrelevante Informationen den jeweiligen Berichtsempfängern präzise, transparent, vergleichbar und adressatengerecht aufbereitet zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Die Basis hierfür sind definierte Standards für die visuelle Aufbereitung von Informationen – in Form einheitlicher Notationskonzepte.
Auf anderen Gebieten werden solche Nomenklaturen bereits schon seit sehr langer Zeit erfolgreich verwendet. Ein besonders prägnantes Beispiel ist dabei der Bereich der Musik: Dank der international gültigen Notenschrift können Musiker mit unterschiedlichen Muttersprachen problemlos miteinander auf der Bühne kommunizieren und kooperieren. Auch Landkarten, Baupläne oder elektronische Schaltpläne sind weltweit einheitlich und unmissverständlich lesbar.
Was wiederum klar bestätigt: Visuelles Erkennen spielt eine zentrale Rolle für das effiziente Erfassen, Analysieren, Verstehen und Interpretieren komplexer Informationsmengen (sprich: Daten) – bestimmte Gesetzmässigkeiten vorausgesetzt. In der Betriebswirtschaft kommen diesbezüglich die Prinzipien des Information Design zur Anwendung. Deren praxisgerechte Anwendung bietet Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, ihr internes und externes Berichtswesen erfolgreich auf ein neues Level zu bringen.

Die IBCS® (International Business Communication Standards®) auf Basis des Referenz-Regelwerks SUCCESS von Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rolf Hichert zielen auf maximale Transparenz in Berichtswesen, Geschäftskommunikation und Präsentationsgestaltung ab. Diese Notationsstandards bilden die Basis für ein optimales, praxisorientiertes Information Design nach folgenden Grundsätzen:

S AY                             Botschaft vermitteln

U NIFY                        Semantische Notation anwenden

C ONDENSE              Informationsdichte erhöhen

C HECK                      Visuelle Integrität sicherstellen

E XPRESS                 Geeignete Visualisierung wählen

S IMPLIFY                  Überflüssiges vermeiden

S TRUCTURE            Inhalt gliedern

Quelle: https://www.ibcs.com/de/standards

  • Berichtsbotschaften sind direkt ersichtlich
  • Inhalte sind gleichartig, überschneidungsfrei und erschöpfend strukturiert
  • Dekoration ist eliminiert, stattdessen sind klare Informationen vorhanden
  • Wert- und Messgrössen sind definiert
  • Inhalte sind verdichtet
  • Berichtsfehler werden im Rahmen des Projektes eliminiert

Dashboards stellen alle wichtigen und erfolgsrelevanten Informationen grafisch oder tabellarisch auf einem Bildschirm dar – verdichtet, hoch aggregiert, übersichtlich und transparent. Auf diese Weise können alle relevanten Kennzahlen auf einen Blick erfasst und überwacht werden. Hierbei stehen häufig Drill-Downs und Optionen zur Datenfilterung zur Verfügung, um ein möglichst effektives und zielorientiertes Arbeiten zu ermöglichen.

Optimales Information Design ist auch für Dashboards entscheidend, da sich die Erfassung von Informationen an den Prinzipien visueller menschlicher Wahrnehmung orientiert. Somit sollte die Gestaltung möglichst verständlich und anschaulich sein – idealerweise in Anlehnung an den Quasi-Standard IBCS® und einhergehend mit einfacher, intuitiver Bedienung durch die Anwender.

Verglichen mit herkömmlichen Reporting-Lösungen werden die Informationen von Dashboards nicht druckoptimiert dargestellt, sondern gezielt für die Erfassung am Bildschirm. Die Anordnung der zusammenhängenden Informations-Details passt daher auf eine oder wenige Bildschirmseiten. So wird nur wirklich Relevantes auf ein schnell und einfach verständliches Format komprimiert.

WISSEN

Wissenswertes

Webinar mit William Kotterla

Group Liquidity Management Dashboard

Seminarinhalt In unserem Webinar präsentieren wir das s-peers SAC Cash Panel. Diese Lösung erlaubt – in Form einer einheitlichen Reporting-Plattform…

Navigationssysteme nach IBCS®

Navigationssysteme nach IBCS®

Seminarinhalt Die IBCS® Standards erweisen sich als hilfreich, um das Reporting innerhalb eines Unternehmens zu vereinheitlichen und somit die Auswertung…

Performance-Messung Was macht die Darstellung von KPIs aus

Performance-Messung: Was macht die Darstellung von KPIs aus?

Das Definieren unternehmerischer Ziele (z. B. eine Umsatzsteigerung um 5 %) erfolgt immer mittels sogenannter Leistungskennzahlen (engl. Key Performance Indicators;…

Weitere Informationen

Weitere Analytics Lösungen