fbpx
Home Data Warehousing Core Data Service (CDS) Views in SAP Business Warehouse

Core data service (CDS) views in SAP business warehouse

CDS-what?

When I first heard about CDS Views, I thought "hm, yet another three-digit abbreviation from SAP ...". I couldn't do much with the three words "Core Data Service" either; so I tried to understand what was behind it.

Virtual data model

An ABAP Core Data Service is an SAP-compliant infrastructure that can be used to define and consume semantic data models (here, data is given a business- or process-relevant meaning). This is also referred to as virtual data models (VDM).
VDMs are the basis of SAP S/4 HANA and are used by both business processes and analytics to provide data for various reporting front ends. CDS views perform intensive calculations on the database, which reduces execution time and simplifies application coding.
Especially in the area of SAP S/4HANA embedded analytics, virtual data models play a major role because they deliver business process information in real time and without data replication, without the user having to have detailed knowledge of the data structures.

Areas of application of Core Data Service Views

Another area of application for CDS views is data extraction to SAP BW.
Thus, in BW/4HANA and S/4HANA, it is possible to replace the familiar LIS extractors, e.g. in SD Sales, Billing and Conditions, with CDS View extractors. This has a number of advantages: Anyone who knows the time-consuming filling of set-up tables for initializing the BW data layer (plus system block!) knows what I'm talking about - not to mention the time-consuming enrichment of the LIS extractors with new fields in an extraction process that is already running productively.

Released or not released? - that is the question here!

SAP S/4HANA brings with it more than 42000 CDS views. However, 90% of these are not released by SAP for further use, i.e. these VDMs can change in the future - similar to unreleased function modules. Whether to use them or not must be weighed up in each individual case. Since CDS views are often nested and based on different views, the overall structure can go through several levels and become correspondingly complex.

How can an existing Core Data Service View be found?

There are several ways to find core data views. In SAP Fiori, for example, there is a tile that displays a list of views. If you want to find out which SAP tables end up in which CDS views, you can also use transaction code SE11 in S/4 and the where-used list.

Core Data Service View - Components

Here is a brief overview of the existing domain-specific languages and services to semantically define data models and consume data:

CDS View Types

Interface View (I_*)

Serves as a basis for consumption views

    • Master View (Master, Text, Hierarchy)
    • Transaction View
    • Data Source View

 

Consumption View (C_*)

This view can be used to provide data to applications, such as queries in Analysis for Office, Fiori tiles, SAP Analytics Cloud Models, and Stories. This type of views can propagate data in the following ways:

    • via ODATA service
    • via InA service

 

Consumption View as a source for SAP Analytics Cloud

A Consumption view, such as C_FinStmntComparison, which can be used to map a profit and loss statement and balance sheet structure, can also be used via a direct live connection S/4HANA to SAP Analytics Cloud (prerequisite is an OData service on the view) to create a model and story with it.
Big advantage here: Real-time data without replication or data loads directly in an appealing dashboard.
The term "view" should not mislead you into thinking that it is a combination of table and view. A consumption view is rather to be considered as a query or frontend object.

Transient Provider

A transient provider - sometimes also called transient query - is a construct that can result, for example, from two CDS views. The first CDS view [A] must be defined with the annotation "@Analytics.dataCategory: #CUBE". The second CDS view [B] selects the data from [A] and must contain the annotation "@Analytics.query: true". This transient provider can then be consumed in Analysis-for-Office.

This is only a small part of what is possible with CDS Views and should serve as a first introduction. The fields of application are very diverse and extend to SAP's latest platform technologies (SAP Business Process Technology).

Know more?

Would you like to delve deeper into this topic? Then we would be happy to present all the advantages of CDS Views to you in person - very much in combination with details on other functions of the SAP Data Warehouse Cloud. Simply get in touch with us!

Your analytics contact
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

Sven Knöpfler

Head of Technology

author

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on a star to rate!

Average rating 3.6 / 5.
Number of ratings: 16

No votes so far! Be the first person to rate this post!

INFORMATION

More information

Wiki SAC GCP Excelimport

SAC & GCP Excel import

The article describes the SAC & GCP solution, with which Excel plan data can be easily and conveniently integrated into SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)....

Cover image Wiki What is Artificial Intelligence (AI) (1)

What is Artificial Intelligence (AI)?

Artificial Intelligence stands for artificial intelligence (AI). And since there is no universally accepted philosophical definition of intelligence, different views of what artificial intelligence is can also be found...

Cover image Wiki What is Machine Learning (ML)?

What is Machine Learning (ML)?

Machine Learning is the answer to one of the questions to a weak Artificial Intelligence. It is a fundamental concept to study algorithms that automatically improve themselves based on experience (using data)...

Wiki How to R - Beginners Guide (1)

How to R - Beginner Guide Time Series Analysis

In this small tutorial, we will limit ourselves to briefly outlining the essential steps in time series analysis in the programming language R...

EU Taxonomy Wiki

EU taxonomy - implementation in an SAP Analytics system

From KPI definition to reporting: Evaluate your company's sales, CapEx and OpEx activities in accordance with the EU taxonomy criteria. We accompany you step by step in the successful implementation of the EU taxonomy guidelines...

Wiki SCT

Sustainability Control Tower (SCT)

At a time when sustainable business practices are indispensable, the focus is increasingly on monitoring and recording one's own sustainability performance using precise data. The SAP Sustainability Control Tower is a comprehensive sustainability solution that enables holistic reporting...

Wiki What is R

What is R?

R is a programming language designed for statistical applications, which enjoys a high degree of diffusion especially in the field of Data Science...

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Home Data Warehousing Core Data Service (CDS) Views im SAP Business Warehouse

Core Data Service (CDS) Views im SAP Business Warehouse

CDS-was?

Als ich das erste Mal von CDS-Views hörte, dachte ich «hm, schon wieder eine weitere dreistellige Abkürzung von SAP …». Auch mit den drei Wörtern «Core Data Service» konnte ich nicht viel anfangen; also versuchte ich zu verstehen, was dahintersteckt.

Virtuelles Datenmodell

Ein ABAP Core Data Service ist eine SAP konforme Infrastruktur, mit der semantische Datenmodelle (hier gibt man Daten eine geschäfts- bzw. prozessrelevante Bedeutung) definiert und konsumiert werden können. Man spricht hier auch von virtuellen Datenmodellen (VDM).
VDMs sind die Grundlage von SAP S/4 HANA und werden sowohl von Geschäftsprozessen als auch Analytics genutzt, um Daten für verschiedene Reporting-Front-Ends zu liefern. Bei den CDS-Views werden intensive Berechnungen auf der Datenbank ausgeführt, was die Ausführungszeit reduziert und das Application-Coding vereinfacht.
Vor allem im Bereich SAP S/4HANA Embedded Analytics spielen virtuelle Datenmodelle eine grosse Rolle, da sie in Echtzeit und ohne Datenreplikation Businessprozess-Informationen liefern, ohne dass der Anwender über ein detailliertes Wissen der Datenstrukturen verfügen muss.

Einsatzbereiche von Core Data Service Views

Ein weiterer Einsatzbereich von CDS-Views ist die Datenextraktion nach SAP-BW.
So ist es in BW/4HANA und S/4HANA möglich, die bekannten LIS-Extraktoren, z. B. im Bereich SD-Sales, Billing und Conditions, durch CDS-View-Extraktoren abzulösen. Das bringt einige Vorteile mit sich: Wer das aufwendige Füllen von Set-up-Tabellen zur Initialisierung des BW-Datenlayers kennt (plus System-Block!), der weiss, wovon ich spreche – nicht zu vergessen auch das aufwendige Anreichern der LIS-Extraktoren mit neuen Feldern bei einem schon produktiv laufenden Extraktionsprozess.

Freigegeben oder nicht freigegeben? – das ist hier die Frage!

SAP S/4HANA bringt mehr als 42000 CDS-Views mit sich. Jedoch sind 90 % davon von SAP nicht zur Weiterverwendung freigegeben, d. h. diese VDMs können sich in Zukunft ändern – ähnlich wie bei nicht freigegebenen Funktionsbausteinen. Ob man diese nun nutzt oder nicht, gilt es im jeweiligen Fall abzuwägen. Da CDS-Views oft verschachtelt sind und auf verschiedenen Views aufbauen, kann die Gesamtstruktur über mehrere Stufen gehen und entsprechend komplex werden.

Wie lässt sich eine vorhandene Core Data Service View finden?

Um Core Data Views zu finden, gibt es verschiedene Vorgehensweisen. In SAP Fiori gibt es z. B. eine Kachel, welche eine Liste der Views ausgibt. Wenn man z. B. in Erfahrung bringen möchte, welche SAP-Tabellen in welchen CDS-Views landen, kann man das aber auch über den Transaktionscode SE11 in S/4 und den Verwendungsnachweis erreichen.

Core Data Service View – Komponenten

Hier eine kurze Übersicht über die vorhandenen Domain-spezifischen Sprachen und Services, um Datenmodelle semantisch zu definieren und Daten zu konsumieren:

CDS-View- Typen

Interface-View (I_*)

Dient als Basis für Consumption- Views

    • Master-View (Master, Text, Hierarchie)
    • Transaction-View
    • Data-Source-View

 

Consumption-View (C_*)

Mit dieser View können Applikationen mit Daten versorgt werden, z.B. Queries in Analysis for Office, Fiori-Tiles, SAP Analytics Cloud Models und Stories. Diese Art Views können auf folgende Weise Daten propagieren:

    • via ODATA-Service
    • via InA-Service

 

Consumption-View als Quelle für SAP Analytics Cloud

Eine Consumption-View, wie z. B. C_FinStmntComparison, mit der man eine Gewinn- und Verlustrechnung sowie Bilanz-Struktur abbilden kann, kann ebenfalls über eine direkte Live-Connection S/4HANA zu SAP Analytics Cloud genutzt werden (Voraussetzung ist ein OData-Service auf der View), um damit ein Model und eine Story zu erstellen.
Grosser Vorteil hier: Echtzeitdaten ohne Replikation oder Datenloads direkt in einem ansprechenden Dashboard.
Vom Begriff «View» sollte man sich nicht irreleiten lassen und vorschnell auf eine Kombination von Tabelle u/o View schliessen. Eine Consumption-View ist eher als Query oder Frontend-Objekt zu betrachten.

Transient Provider

Ein Transient Provider – manchmal auch Transient Query genannt – ist ein Konstrukt, welches sich z. B. aus zwei CDS-Views ergeben kann. Dabei muss die erste CDS-View [A] u. a. mit der Annotation «@Analytics.dataCategory: #CUBE» definiert werden. Die zweite CDS-View [B] selektiert die Daten aus [A] und muss die Annotation «@Analytics.query: true» enthalten. Dieser Transient Provider kann dann im Analysis-for-Office konsumiert werden.

Dies ist nur ein kleiner Ausschnitt davon, was mit CDS-Views möglich ist und soll als erste Einführung dienen. Die Einsatzfelder sind sehr vielfältig und reichen bis in SAP’s neueste Plattformtechnologien (SAP Business Process Technology).

Mehr wissen?

Sie möchten tiefer in dieses Thema einsteigen? Dann freuen wir uns, Ihnen alle Vorteile der CDS-Views persönlich zu präsentieren – sehr gerne auch kombiniert mit Details zu weiteren Funktionen der SAP Data Warehouse Cloud. Nehmen Sie einfach Kontakt mit uns auf!

Ihre Analytics Ansprechpartnerin
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

Sven Knöpfler

Head of Technology

autor:IN

Wie hat Ihnen der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf einen Stern, um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 3.6 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 14

Bislang keine Stimmen! Seien Sie die erste Person, die diesen Beitrag bewertet!

ANALYTICS LÖSUNGEN

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Analytics Lösungen

INFORMATIONEN

Weitere Informationen

Wiki Managed Cloud Services

Managed Cloud Services

Managed Cloud Services ermöglichen es Unternehmen, die Vorteile der Cloud-Technologie zu nutzen, ohne sich mit der Komplexität der Cloud-Verwaltung auseinandersetzen…

Maximierung des Geschäftspotenzials mit BigQuery ML

Ein erheblicher Anteil von bis zu 80 % aller Daten besteht oft aus unstrukturierten Daten, wie Bildern, Videos und Textdokumenten….

Wiki EU Taxonomie Visual

Geschützt: EU Taxonomie

Es gibt keinen Textauszug, da dies ein geschützter Beitrag ist.

Data & Analytics Strategie Guide

Die Bedeutung von Daten hat sich in den letzten Jahren grundlegend verändert. Wir sind in der Lage, immer grössere Datenmengen…

Die Bedeutung der Datenqualität für Analytics

In der Welt der Analytics ist Datenqualität der Schlüssel zum Erkennen relevanter Muster und zum Treffen fundierter Entscheidungen. Nur durch…

Wiki Predictive Controlling

Predictive Controlling: Die automatisierte rollierende Hochrechnung der Erfolgsrechnung im Konzern

Predictive Controlling ermöglicht Vorhersagen durch Datenanalyse und fortschrittliche Modelle. Unternehmen treffen fundierte Entscheidungen, reagieren frühzeitig auf Veränderungen und stärken ihre…

Titelbild Wiki Artikel SAP Data Intelligence

SAP Data Intelligence – Mit Datenintelligenz mehr aus Ihren Daten holen.

Wie können die Daten(-ströme) aus verschiedenen Standorten effizient und intelligent genutzt werden?SAP Data Intelligence erleichtert es Unternehmen, ihre Daten zu…

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner