fbpx
Home Data Warehousing You have to cross a bridge: Functions and overview of the SAP BW Bridge

Bridge the Gap to Better Business Intelligence with SAP BW Bridge!

The BW Bridge is presented by SAP as a way to transfer a system from a classic on-premise environment to the SAP Datasphere (formerly Data Warehouse Cloud). This interview was conducted by Daniel Moser (Senior Account Manager, s-peers AG) with Eugen Gering (Data Warehousing Experts-peers AG) and sheds light on the functions of the SAP BW Bridge, its architecture and its advantages and disadvantages with the following seven questions.

Table of contents

Interview intro

Hello Eugen, first of all thank you for being available for this interview. At s-peers AG, you are an expert in the field of data warehousing and in particular for BW Bridge. BW Bridge has been around for almost a year now, and a lot has happened in the product development of BW Bridge. I would like to take this as an opportunity to ask you seven questions about BW Bridge, so that BW can turn "old" into "new". So that everyone has the same level of knowledge about the BW Bridge, I would like to ask you first a comprehension question about the BW Bridge:

Question 1: What is the BW Bridge?

The BW Bridge, which will be published in November 2021, is a functional extension of SAP Datasphere (formerly DWC), which was previously not compatible with old developments from the classic BW system. With the so-called BW/4HANA Model Transfer, Datasphere offers the option of transferring the semantic layer to Datasphere on the basis of queries and using it in hybrid use of both systems. However, until now it was not possible to transfer persistent objects and transformation logics specifically with customer-specific ABAP routines to Datasphere and to use them independently of the on-premise system.  

This is now possible with BW Bridge!

Eclipse, already familiar from the classic on-premise BW world, serves also as the development environment for the BW Bridge, in whichclassic BW objects such as DataStore objects (advanced), transformations, DataSources, process chains, etc. can be created. Developments using ABAP are also possible.

A list of other important BW Bridge features including explanations is provided in the following knowledge article here.

 

Question 2: How is the BW Bridge structured?

The BW Bridge user interface consists of the SAP BW Bridge Cockpit and the ABAP Admin UI. In Eclipse, development can be done using the BW Modeling Tools and ABAP Development Tools add-ons.

The figure below also shows that the BW Bridge only allows SAP products that can be connected via ODP as data sources. Non-SAP systems can still be connected directly in the Datasphere (formerly DWC) via the many integration options.

The connection between the BW Bridge and the Datasphere takes place via a separate Space, which enables the data to be shared with other Spaces via the share function.

SAP BW Bridge Overview

Figure 1: User interface of the BW Bridge, source: SAP blog

Question 3: What is the path via the BW Bridge into SAP Datasphere?

 

SAP BW Bridge Environment

Figure 2: The on-premise path of the BW Bridge, source: SAP blog.

With the described function extension, BW Bridge also offers a path from the on-premise system to the public cloud. During the conversion, existing data flows including DataSource, transformations, ABAP code, InfoObjects, etc. can be transferred under certain conditions. Queries are transferred, but cannot be executed as in the classic BW system or used as a source for other data targets. This is due to the lack of support for OLAP functionalities.

Question 4: How does the conversion from the BW system to BW Bridge work?

SAP offers two different conversion tools to transfer BW objects from an on-premise system to the public cloud of the BW Bridge. While the shell conversion requires the data to be reloaded after conversion, the remote conversion transfers existing data at the same time.

Shell Conversion

During shell conversion, the metadata of the selected objects is converted from the existing on-premise system to the BW Bridge. No data itself is transferred, only the definition of the objects. Due to the possibility of developing with ABAP in the BW Bridge, ABAP logic that has already been developed can continue to be used in the Datasphere.

The data itself can then be loaded manually from the ODP source system in BW Bridge.

Remote Conversion

In addition to the metadata of the selected objects, the remote conversion also transfers the existing data. This is particularly useful for data models that cannot receive historical data from the source system or cannot be initialized for technical reasons.  

Question 5: What are the implementation challenges?

According to SAP, the BW Bridge is the path from an on-premise system to the cloud. However, the use of the function extension is characterized by many restrictions.

For example, compatibility is severely limited: When converting, it should be noted that no function modules and no classic programs can be created, since the BW Bridge only allows class-based program code.

If queries are also transferred from the on-premise system, they cannot be executed on the BW Bridge. The transfer of these queries via the BW/4HANA Model Transfer is associated with further restrictions at the current stage of development.

As an integrated part of SAP Datasphere, BW Bridge uses the main storage of the cloud application. Therefore, another limitation when using the BW Bridge is the limited storage space, which is usually much smaller compared to an on-premise system.

File interfaces or sources that are connected via HANA or SDI/SDA cannot be imported into BW Bridge.

There are no OLAP functions in the BW Bridge, so that, for example, queries cannot be transferred as InfoProviders for other data targets.

HANA native developments or mixed modeling scenarios, e.g. the use of HANA CalcualtionViews in the BW system, cannot be transferred to the BW Bridge using conversion tools.

Up to now, there is also no possibility to connect the SAP GUI of SAP Datasphere with the BW Bridge.

These restrictions apply to the current version in August 2022. It should be noted that the product is constantly being further developed by SAP and that these restrictions may therefore change on an ongoing basis.

Question 6: What are the advantages of BW Bridge?

Even if the conversion of an entire BW system to the BW Bridge is difficult due to the numerous restrictions mentioned above, it can still be used to transfer individual parts from an on-premise system to the cloud.

When converting to the cloud system, the following objects, among others, known from the BW system, can be transferred:

  • Data Source (ODP)
  • InfoObject
  • Advanced Data Store Objects (ADSO)
  • Transformations
  • Data transfer processes (DTP)
  • CompositeProvider
  • ABAP Extensions/Code
  • Source systems (SAP)

In addition, ABAP code can be used in the Eclipse environment, which was previously not possible in the DWC.

Using the BW Bridge also makes it possible to activate old SAP content so that it can then be used in the Datasphere. This is an advantage in that the content in the BW system is usually more powerful than that offered in the Datasphere. In addition, the possibility of developing with ABAP means that the range of functions in the Datasphere can be extended to include this programming language. These points can also be used independently of a transfer of an existing on-premise system.

Question 7: How innovative is the BW Bridge?

As one of SAP's newest features, BW Bridge is definitely innovative as it extends Datasphere with classic BW objects and also enables restrictive migration from an on-premise system. So far, however, there are many challenges in the project of transferring an entire BW system to the BW Bridge due to these restrictions.

However, it is to be expected that SAP willcontinue to develop theproduct inthis respect, so that certain restrictions should no longer apply in the future.

For example, it has already been announced that it may be possible in the future to transfer Datasphere-models back into the BW Bridge.

We are happy to support you in analyzing your current on-premise system and work with you to develop possible use cases that can be implemented with BW Bridge and Datasphere in the next step.

Contact: Want to know more about BW Bridge?

Would you like to delve deeper into the topic of BW Bridge or activate BW Bridge together? 

I look forward to hearing from you! 

Your contact person for BW Bridge
Nadine Matt_2
Nadine Matt
Customer Engagement & Communication Executive

Published by:

Daniel Moser

Senior account manager

author

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on a star to rate!

Average rating 4.9 / 5.
Number of ratings: 15

No votes so far! Be the first person to rate this post!

INFORMATION

More information

SAP Analysis for Microsoft Office vs. SAP Analytics Cloud Excel Add-In: Functions and differences

This article compares the features and possible applications of SAP Analysis for Microsoft Office (AfO) and the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC)...

Wiki Big Query SAP Warehousing

Google BigQuery vs. SAP Warehousing

This wiki article presents two leading solutions for data management and analysis in the modern data-driven world: Google BigQuery and SAP BW. Both systems offer powerful functions, but differ in their approaches and areas of application.

Wiki SAC GCP Excelimport

SAC & GCP Excel import

The article describes the SAC & GCP solution, with which Excel plan data can be easily and conveniently imported into SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) models. With the help of Excel templates and a user-friendly web application, the data is prepared locally and automatically transferred to the SAC model via the SAC Data Import API.

Cover image Wiki What is Artificial Intelligence (AI) (1)

What is Artificial Intelligence (AI)?

Artificial Intelligence stands for artificial intelligence (AI). And since there is no universally accepted philosophical definition of intelligence, different views of what artificial intelligence is can also be found...

Cover image Wiki What is Machine Learning (ML)?

What is Machine Learning (ML)?

Machine Learning is the answer to one of the questions to a weak Artificial Intelligence. It is a fundamental concept to study algorithms that automatically improve themselves based on experience (using data)...

Wiki How to R - Beginners Guide (1)

How to R - Beginner Guide Time Series Analysis

In this small tutorial, we will limit ourselves to briefly outlining the essential steps in time series analysis in the programming language R...

EU Taxonomy Wiki

EU taxonomy - implementation in an SAP Analytics system

From KPI definition to reporting: Evaluate your company's sales, CapEx and OpEx activities in accordance with the EU taxonomy criteria. We accompany you step by step in the successful implementation of the EU taxonomy guidelines...

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Home Data Warehousing Über eine Brücke musst Du gehen: Funktionen und Überblick der SAP BW Bridge

Über eine Brücke musst Du gehen: Funktionen und Überblick der SAP BW Bridge

Die BW Bridge wird von der SAP als Möglichkeit präsentiert, ein System aus einer klassischen on-premise Umgebung in die SAP Data Warehouse Cloud zu transferieren. Dieses Interview wurde von Daniel Moser (Senior Account Manager, s-peers AG) mit Eugen Gering (Data Warehousing Experte, s-peers AG) geführt und beleuchtet mit den folgenden sieben Fragen die Funktionen der SAP BW Bridge, ihre Architektur sowie ihre Vor- und Nachteile.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Interview-Intro

Hallo Eugen, erst einmal vielen Dank, dass Du mir für dieses Interview zur Verfügung stehst. Du bist bei der s-peers AG Experte im Bereich Data Warehousing und insbesondere für die BW Bridge. Die BW Bridge gibt es nun fast ein Jahr und es hat sich einiges in der Produktentwicklung der BW Bridge getan. Das möchte ich zum Anlass nehmen, Dir sieben Fragen zur BW Bridge zu stellen, sodass durch die BW „Alt“ zu „Neu“ gemacht werden kann. Damit jeder denselben Wissensstand zur BW Bridge hat, möchte ich Dir als Erstes eine Verständnisfrage zur BW Bridge stellen:

Frage 1: Was ist die BW Bridge?

Die im November 2021 veröffentlichte BW Bridge ist eine Funktionserweiterung der SAP Data Warehouse Cloud (DWC), welche bislang nicht mit alten Entwicklungen aus dem klassischen BW-System kompatibel war. Zwar bietet die DWC mit dem sogenannten BW/4HANA Model Transfer die Option, auf Basis von Queries die semantische Schicht in die DWC zu transferieren und im hybriden Einsatz beider Systeme zu nutzen. Allerdings war es bislang nicht möglich, persistierende Objekte und Transformations-Logiken speziell mit kundeneigenen ABAP-Routinen in die DWC zu überführen und diese unabhängig vom on-premise System zu nutzen.  

Dies wird nun mit der BW Bridge möglich!

Wie bereits aus der klassischen on-premise BW-Welt bekannt sein dürfte, dient auch bei der BW Bridge Eclipse als Entwicklungsumgebung, in welcher man klassische BW-Objekte wie DataStore-Objekte (advanced), Transformationen, DataSources, Prozessketten, etc. erstellen kann. Entwicklungen mittels ABAP werden zudem ebenfalls ermöglicht.

Eine Auflistung weiterer wichtiger BW Bridge Features inklusive Erklärung liefert der folgende Wissensartikel hier.

 

Frage 2: Wie ist die BW Bridge aufgebaut?

Das User-Interface der BW Bridge besteht aus dem SAP BW Bridge Cockpit und dem ABAP Admin UI. In Eclipse kann mithilfe der Add-ons BW Modeling Tools und ABAP Development Tools entwickelt werden.

Auf der Abbildung unten ist ausserdem zu sehen, dass die BW Bridge als Datenquellen nur SAP-Produkte erlaubt, welche mittels ODP angebunden werden können. Nicht-SAP Systeme können weiterhin über die vielen Integrationsmöglichkeiten direkt in der DWC angebunden werden.

Die Verbindung zwischen der BW Bridge und der DWC findet dabei über ein separates Space statt, welches die Daten über die Share-Funktion mit anderen Spaces ermöglicht.

SAP BW Bridge Übersicht

Abbildung 1: User-Interface der BW Bridge, Quelle: Blog der SAP

Frage 3: Wie sieht der Weg über die BW Bridge in die SAP Data Warehouse Cloud aus?

 

SAP BW Bridge Umgebung

Abbildung 2: Der on-premise Weg der BW Bridge, Quelle: Blog der SAP

Mit der beschriebenen Funktionserweiterung bietet die BW Bridge zudem einen Weg vom on-premise System in die public Cloud. Bei der Konvertierung können dabei unter bestimmten Bedingungen bestehende Datenflüsse samt DataSource, Transformationen, ABAP-Code, InfoObjects, etc. übertragen werden. Queries werden dabei zwar übertragen, können jedoch nicht wie im klassischen BW-System ausgeführt oder als Quelle für andere Datenziele verwendet werden. Dies liegt am fehlenden Support für OLAP-Funktionalitäten.

Frage 4: Wie funktioniert die Konvertierung aus dem BW-System in die BW Bridge?

Die SAP bietet zwei verschiedene Konvertierungs-Tools, um BW-Objekte von einem on-premise System in die public Cloud der BW Bridge zu transferieren. Während mit der Shell Conversion die Daten nach der Konvertierung erneut beladen werden müssen, werden bei der Remote Conversion bestehende Daten gleich mit übertragen.

Shell Conversion

Bei der Shell Conversion werden die Metadaten der ausgewählten Objekte aus dem bestehenden on-premise System in die BW Bridge konvertiert. Es werden dabei keine Daten selbst, sondern lediglich die Definition der Objekte transferiert. Durch die Möglichkeit, in der BW Bridge mit ABAP zu entwickeln, kann bereits entwickelte ABAP-Logik in der DWC weiter genutzt werden.

Die Daten selbst können im Anschluss in der BW Bridge manuell aus dem ODP-Quellsystem geladen werden.

Remote Conversion

Die Remote Conversion überträgt neben den Metadaten der ausgewählten Objekte zusätzlich die bestehenden Daten. Dies bietet sich besonders bei Datenmodellen an, die keine historischen Daten aus dem Quellsystem erhalten können oder aus technischen Gründen nicht initialisiert werden können.  

Frage 5: Welche Herausforderungen gibt es bei der Implementierung?

Laut der SAP ist die BW Bridge der Weg von einem on-premise System in die Cloud. Die Nutzung der Funktionserweiterung ist allerdings von vielen Restriktionen geprägt.

So ist zum Beispiel die Kompatibilität stark eingeschränkt: Bei der Konvertierung ist zu beachten, dass keine Funktionsbausteine und keine klassischen Programme erstellt werden können, da die BW Bridge nur klassenbasierten Programmcode erlaubt.

Werden zudem Queries aus dem on-premise System übertragen, so können sie auf der BW Bridge nicht ausgeführt werden. Die Übertragung dieser Queries über den BW/4HANA Model Transfer ist mit dem heutigen Entwicklungsstand mit weiteren Restriktionen verbunden.

Als integrierter Bestandteil der SAP DWC nutzt die BW Bridge den Hauptspeicher der Cloud-Anwendung. Deshalb ist eine weitere Einschränkung bei der Nutzung der BW Bridge der begrenzte Speicherplatz, der im Vergleich zu einem on-premise System in der Regel wesentlich kleiner ist.

File-Schnittstellen oder Quellen, die über die HANA oder SDI/SDA angebunden sind, können nicht in die BW Bridge importiert werden.

In der BW Bridge existieren keinerlei OLAP-Funktionen, sodass beispielsweise Query als InfoProvider für weitere Datenziele nicht übertragen werden können.

HANA native Entwicklungen oder Mixed Modelling Szenarien, bspw. die Nutzung von HANA CalcualtionViews im BW System können nicht mittels Conversion Tools in die BW Bridge übertragen werden.

Bislang besteht ausserdem keine Möglichkeit, die SAP GUI der SAP Data Warehouse Cloud mit der BW Bridge zu verbinden.

Diese genannten Einschränkungen gelten für die im August 2022 aktuelle Version. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass das Produkt von der SAP stetig weiterentwickelt wird und sich diese Einschränkungen daher laufend verändern können.

Frage 6: Was sind Vorteile der BW Bridge?

Auch wenn sich die Konvertierung eines gesamten BW-Systems auf die BW Bridge durch die oben genannten zahlreichen Restriktionen als schwierig gestaltet, kann sie dennoch genutzt werden, um einzelne Teile aus einem on-premise System in die Cloud zu transferieren.

Bei der Konvertierung in das Cloud-System können unter anderem die folgenden Objekte, bekannt aus dem BW-System, übertragen werden:

  • Data Source (ODP)
  • InfoObject
  • Advanced Data Store Objects (ADSO)
  • Transformationen
  • Datentransferprozesse (DTP)
  • CompositeProvider
  • ABAP Extensions/Code
  • Quellsysteme (SAP)

In der Eclipse-Umgebung kann zudem ABAP-Code verwendet werden, was vorher in der DWC nicht möglich war.

Die Nutzung der BW Bridge ermöglicht es zudem, altbekannten Content der SAP zu aktivieren, um diesen dann in der DWC nutzen zu können. Dies ist insofern ein Vorteil, als der Content im BW-System in der Regel mächtiger ist, als der, der in der DWC angeboten wird. Durch die Möglichkeit zur Entwicklung mit ABAP kann ausserdem der Funktionsumfang in der DWC um diese Programmiersprache erweitert werden. Diese Punkte können zudem auch unabhängig von einem Transfer eines bestehenden on-premise Systems verwendet werden.

Frage 7: Wie innovativ ist die BW Bridge?

Als eines der neusten Features der SAP ist die BW Bridge definitiv innovativ, da sie die DWC mit klassischen BW-Objekten erweitert und zudem eine restriktive Migration von einem on-premise System ermöglicht. Bislang gibt es aufgrund dieser Restriktionen jedoch viele Herausforderungen bei dem Vorhaben, ein gesamtes BW-System in die BW Bridge zu übertragen.

Es ist allerdings zu erwarten, dass die SAP das Produkt in dieser Hinsicht stetig weiterentwickeln wird, sodass bestimmte Restriktionen in Zukunft entfallen dürften.

Beispielsweise wurde bereits angekündigt, dass es in Zukunft möglich sein könnte, DWC-Modelle wieder zurück in die BW Bridge zu übertragen.

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Analyse Ihres derzeitigen on-premise Systems und erarbeiten mit Ihnen zusammen mögliche Use Cases, welche mit der BW Bridge und der DWC im nächsten Schritt implementiert werden können.

Kontakt: Mehr über die BW Bridge wissen?

Sie möchten tiefer in das Thema BW Bridge einsteigen oder die BW Bridge gemeinsam aktivieren? 

Ich freue mich, auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme! 

Ihr Ansprechpartner für die BW Bridge
Daniel Moser
Daniel Moser
Senior Account Manager

Published by:

Daniel Moser

Senior Account Manager

autor:IN

Wie hat Ihnen der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf einen Stern, um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 12

Bislang keine Stimmen! Seien Sie die erste Person, die diesen Beitrag bewertet!

ANALYTICS LÖSUNGEN

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Analytics Lösungen

INFORMATIONEN

Weitere Informationen

Wiki Einführung Google BigQuery

Google BigQuery: Die wichtigsten Basics

Mit BigQuery verkauft Google ein Warehousing Tool, das etablierte Systeme ersetzen können soll. Welche konkreten Vorteile Google BigQuery bietet, wie…

Wiki ESG Reporting

ESG Reportings: Bedeutung, Relevanz und SAP Lösungen

ESG ist mittlerweile mehr als ein Trend – Unternehmen zeigen damit, welchen Stellenwert das Thema Nachhaltigkeit in ihrer Organisation einnimmt…

Titelbild On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software Was ist der Unterschied

On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software: Was ist der Unterschied?

Was ist on- und was ist off-premise Software und was ist der Unterschied? Diese Thematik behandelt der folgende Wissensartikel. Zudem…

Wiki - The Big 5 - Sustainability Reporting

Die „Big Five“ des Sustainability Reportings

Wer gibt Standards im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung vor? Der folgende Wissensartikel befasst sich mit dieser Frage. Es werden fünf verschiedene…

Wiki 5 Sustainability KPIs

Die 5 wichtigsten Sustainability KPIs

Was sind die 5 wichtigsten Sustainability KPIs? Und warum sind Sustainability KPIs wichtig für Ihr Unternehmen? Inhaltsverzeichnis 1. Wozu werden…

Wiki: Warum benötigt man ein dwh?

Warum benötigt man ein Data Warehouse: Definition, Architektur und Vorteile

Was ist ein Data Warehouse (Kapitel 1), wie ist es aufgebaut (Kapitel 2) und warum brauche ich als Organisation ein…

Wiki Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint

Überblick Carbon Footprint Software

Die Berechnung des Product Carbon Footprints (PCF) kann sehr zeitaufwendig und komplex sein. Daher gibt es immer mehr Software-Tools, die diese Berechnung erleichtern sollen…