Home Analysis for Office Optimized efficiency for end users: SAP Analysis for Office (AfO)

Optimised efficiency for end-users: SAP Analysis for Office (AfO)

This article provides an overview of SAP Analysis for Office (AfO). It also answers the following questions: What is SAP Analysis for Office? What are the design features and integration options to the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) and what does the version update 2.8 bring with it?

Table of contents

Analysis for Office (AfO) is the SAP BI tool for business users: In a familiar Excel environment, SAP AfO enables users to read simple reports and run comprehensive reporting and planning applications. At the same time, power users benefit from comprehensive data analysis functions.

The current release 2.7 contains new features and functionalities that convince with increased user-friendliness and flexibility for end users. In addition, Analysis for Office 2.7 can also natively consume models based on the SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC).

2. new design and more flexible data modelling

To optimize user-friendliness, AfO's functionalities are now presented by means of the two separate tabs "Analysis" and "Analysis Design". In future, data sources can be added and filters, hierarchies and key figures configured under "Analysis". The corresponding formatting of the analyses can now be found under "Analysis Design": Here, representations (e.g. diagrams, tables) can be formatted according to requirements.

The data modelling in the client has also been further improved. Filters can now be set on key figures - coupled with the optional creation of calculated and restricted key figures. For the necessary calculations in tables, users can still comfortably fall back on the familiar Excel syntax. In addition, the content of the tables can be enriched with external data via the SVERWEIS function.

The commenting function has also been usefully expanded in AfO Release 2.7: Comments can now be implemented both in the workbooks (local) and in BW/4HANA (global). When implemented locally, comments are only visible within the workbooks in which they were created. Globally implemented, on the other hand, comments on restricted key figures show up in every query in which these key figures are used. The two alternatives thus expand the application spectrum in a very practical and flexible way.

3. integration of the SAP Analytics Cloud

Analysis for Office has already included the option to report directly via (native) SAC models since 2017. The new release 2.7 improves this function: Now planning is also possible by integrating active models from the SAC into the AfO. Subsequently, the entered planning data can be written back to the SAC.

The intelligent linking of AfO and SAC sets a further effective course at the height of the times: The number of companies worldwide is now growing rapidly in which optimized cloud solutions contribute as efficiently as sustainably to competitive advantage and business success - ideally coupled with standardized visualization in reporting to ensure the best possible decisions.

The integration of Analysis for Office and SAP Analytics Cloud is therefore also being driven forward in terms of licensing. SAP now offers a separate AfO version specifically for SAC, which is available to SAC subscribers free of charge. However, the free version only allows connections to the SAC - other data sources cannot be connected: This is possible with the full version of Analysis for Office 2.7.

4. with version 2.8 SP14: Integration of the SAP Data Warehouse Cloud

With the new version, SAP Analysis for Microsoft Excel supports companies in their move to the cloud by allowing data from the Data Warehouse Cloud (DWC) to be integrated directly into Excel Workbooks with version 2.8 SP14.

4.1 Accessing data from the DWC using Analysis for Office version 2.8 SP14

Both editions of SAP Analysis for Microsoft Office (see differences for each licence on PAM page 6) support direct access to the DWC. To access this data, add a new data source for analysis. In the tree view of the connection dialogue there is a new connection type SAP Data Warehouse Cloud. Create a new connection with the right mouse button and maintain the description and URL of the client.

AFO DWC 1
Source: https://blogs.sap.com/2022/05/17/access-sap-data-warehouse-cloud-with-saps-microsoft-excel-add-ins/

As soon as this login with the SAP Data Warehouse Cloud user is successful, the option to search for analytical datasets opens:

  • The user can either search by the description or technical name of the dataset, or use the direct search to search for all records in a specific range
  • The "Area" tab lists all assigned areas with their analysis data sets

Select the desired data set, maintain possible prompts and start the analysis as usual:

Source: https://blogs.sap.com/2022/05/17/access-sap-data-warehouse-cloud-with-saps-microsoft-excel-add-ins/

4.2 Additional notes

  • The preferred platform must be selectable to see the new SAP Data Warehouse Cloud connection type
  • In the future, SAP will change the embedded Internet Explorer-based logon to the computer's default browser. This setting UseExternalBrowserForDwcLogon is already available but disabled by default until the changes are released on all SAP BTP landscapes.
  • Further information and restrictions are listed on the SAP help page
Know more?

Would you like to learn more about the user-friendly benefits and flexible options of SAP Analysis for Office? We would be happy to present the new release to you in detail.

Simply get in touch with us for this!

Your contact for analytics topics
Theresa Riesterer - SAP Analytics expert
Theresa Riesterer
SAP Analytics expert

Published by:

Tobias Mirlach

SAP Analytics consultant

author

How did you like the article?

How helpful was this post?

Click on a star to rate!

Average rating 4.7 / 5.
Number of ratings: 3

No votes so far! Be the first person to rate this post!

ANALYTICS SOLUTIONS

Learn more about our Analytics solutions

INFORMATION

More information

Wiki Introduction Google BigQuery

Google BigQuery: The most important basics

With BigQuery, Google sells a warehousing tool that is supposed to be able to replace established systems. What concrete advantages does Google BigQuery offer, how...

Wiki ESG Reporting

ESG Reporting: Importance, Relevance and SAP Solutions

ESG is now more than just a trend - companies are using it to demonstrate the importance they attach to the issue of sustainability in their organization...

Cover On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software What's the Difference

On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software: What's the Difference?

What is on-premise and what is off-premise software and what is the difference? This topic is covered in the following knowledge article. In addition...

Wiki: Eugen interviewed about BW Bridge

Bridge the Gap to Better Business Intelligence with SAP BW Bridge!

The BW Bridge is presented by SAP as a way to integrate a system from a classic on-premise environment into the SAP...

Wiki - The Big 5 - Sustainability Reporting

The sustainability reporting "big five"

Who sets the standards when it comes to sustainability reporting? The following expert article deals with this question. Five different...

Wiki Five sustainability KPIs

The five most important sustainability KPIs

What are the 5 most important sustainability KPIs? And why are Sustainability KPIs important for your company? Table of Contents 1. What are the...

Wiki: Why do you need a DWH?

Why you need a data warehouse: definition, architecture and benefits

What is a data warehouse (Chapter 1), how is it structured (Chapter 2) and why do I as an organisation need a...

Home Analysis for Office Optimierte Effizienz für End-User: SAP Analysis for Office (AfO)

Optimierte Effizienz für End-User: SAP Analysis for Office (AfO)

Dieser Artikel gibt einen Überblick über SAP Analysis for Office (AfO). Zudem werden folgende Fragen beantwortet: Was ist eine SAP Analysis for Office? Was für Design-Features und Integrationsmöglichkeiten zur SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) gibt es und was bringt das Versions-Update 2.8 mit sich?

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Analysis for Office (AfO) ist das SAP-BI-Tool für Fachbereichsanwender: In gewohnter Excel-Umgebung ermöglicht SAP AfO neben dem Lesen einfacher Reports auch das Ausführen umfassender Reporting- und Planungsapplikationen. Parallel profitieren Poweruser von umfangreichen Funktionen für die Datenanalyse.

Das aktuelle Release 2.7 beinhaltet neue Features und Funktionalitäten, die mit gesteigerter Benutzerfreundlichkeit und Flexibilität für End-User überzeugen. Zudem können mit Analysis for Office 2.7 auch Modelle auf Basis der SAP Analytics Cloud (SAC) nativ konsumiert werden.

2. Neues Design und flexiblere Datenmodellierung

Zur Optimierung der Benutzerfreundlichkeit werden die Funktionalitäten von AfO nun mittels der beiden separaten Reiter „Analysis“ und „Analysis Design“ präsentiert. Unter „Analysis“ können künftig Datenquellen hinzugefügt sowie Filter, Hierarchien und Kennzahlen konfiguriert werden. Die entsprechende Formatierung der Analysen ist jetzt unter „Analysis Design“ zu finden: Hier lassen sich Darstellungen (z. B. Diagramme, Tabellen) bedarfsgerecht formatieren.

Ebenfalls weiter verbessert wurde die Datenmodellierung im Client. So können nun Filter auf Kennzahlen gesetzt werden – gepaart mit dem optionalen Anlegen von berechneten und eingeschränkten Kennzahlen. Für die notwendigen Kalkulationen in Tabellen können User weiterhin komfortabel auf die gewohnte Excel-Syntax zurückgreifen. Zusätzlich kann der Inhalt der Tabellen über die SVERWEIS-Funktion mit externen Daten angereichert werden.

Auch die Kommentierungs-Funktion wurde beim AfO-Release 2.7 sinnvoll ausgebaut: Kommentare lassen sich jetzt sowohl in den Workbooks (lokal) als auch in BW/4HANA (global) umsetzen. Bei lokaler Umsetzung sind Kommentare nur innerhalb der Workbooks sichtbar, in denen sie erstellt wurden. Global realisiert zeigen sich Kommentare auf eingeschränkte Kennzahlen dagegen in jeder Query, in der diese Kennzahlen verwendet werden. Die beiden Alternativen erweitern somit das Anwendungsspektrum auf sehr praxisgerechte und flexible Weise.

3. Integration der SAP Analytics Cloud

Analysis for Office beinhaltet bereits seit 2017 die Option, direkt über (native) SAC-Modelle reporten zu können. Das neue Release 2.7 verbessert diese Funktion: Nun ist auch Planung möglich, indem aktive Modelle aus der SAC in das AfO integriert werden. Im Anschluss lassen sich die eingegebenen Plandaten in die SAC zurückschreiben.

Das intelligente Verknüpfen von AfO und SAC stellt weitere wirkungsvolle Weichen auf der Höhe der Zeit: Rasant wächst inzwischen weltweit die Anzahl von Unternehmen, in denen optimierte Cloud-Lösungen so effizient wie nachhaltig zu Wettbewerbsvorteil und Geschäftserfolg beitragen – idealerweise gekoppelt mit standardisierter Visualisierung im Reporting, um bestmögliche Entscheidungen zu gewährleisten.

Die Verzahnung von Analysis for Office und SAP Analytics Cloud wird daher auch in puncto Lizenzierung weiter vorangetrieben. So offeriert SAP jetzt eigens für die SAC eine eigenständige AfO-Version, die SAC-Abonnenten kostenfrei zur Verfügung steht. Die Gratis-Version erlaubt jedoch lediglich Verbindungen in die SAC – weitere Datenquellen können nicht angebunden werden: Dies ist mit der Vollversion von Analysis for Office 2.7 möglich.

4. Mit Version 2.8 SP14: Integration der SAP Data Warehouse Cloud

Mit der neuen Version unterstützt SAP Analysis for Microsoft Excel Unternehmen im Wechsel zur Cloud, indem mit der Version 2.8 SP14 Daten aus der Data Warehouse Cloud (DWC) direkt in Excel Workbooks eingebunden werden können.

4.1. Zugriff auf Daten aus der DWC mit Hilfe von Analysis for Office Version 2.8 SP14

Beide Editionen von SAP Analysis for Microsoft Office (siehe Unterschiede für jede Lizenz auf PAM Seite 6) unterstützen den direkten Zugriff auf die DWC. Um auf diese Daten zuzugreifen, fügen Sie eine neue Datenquelle für die Analyse ein. In der Baumansicht des Verbindungsdialogs gibt es den neuen Verbindungstyp SAP Data Warehouse Cloud. Legen Sie mit der rechten Maustaste eine neue Verbindung an und pflegen Sie Beschreibung und URL des Mandanten.

AFO DWC 1
Quelle: https://blogs.sap.com/2022/05/17/access-sap-data-warehouse-cloud-with-saps-microsoft-excel-add-ins/

Sobald diese Anmeldung mit dem SAP Data Warehouse Cloud-Benutzer erfolgreich ist, öffnet sich die Möglichkeit zur Suche nach analytischen Datasets:

  • Der Benutzer kann entweder nach der Beschreibung oder dem technischen Namen des Datasets suchen, oder die direkte Suche verwenden, um nach allen Datensätzen in einem bestimmten Bereich zu suchen
  • Die Registerkarte „Bereich“ listet alle zugewiesenen Bereiche mit ihren Analysedatensätzen auf

Wählen Sie den gewünschten Datensatz aus, pflegen Sie mögliche Eingabeaufforderungen und starten Sie die Analyse wie gewohnt:

Quelle: https://blogs.sap.com/2022/05/17/access-sap-data-warehouse-cloud-with-saps-microsoft-excel-add-ins/

4.2. Zusätzliche Hinweise

  • Die bevorzugte Plattform muss auswählbar sein, um den neuen SAP Data Warehouse Cloud Verbindungstyp zu sehen
  • In Zukunft wird die SAP die eingebettete Internet-Explorer-basierte Anmeldung auf den Standardbrowser des Rechners umstellen. Diese Einstellung UseExternalBrowserForDwcLogon ist bereits verfügbar, aber standardmäßig deaktiviert, bis die Änderungen auf allen SAP BTP-Landschaften freigegeben sind.
  • Weitere Informationen und Einschränkungen sind auf der SAP-Hilfeseite aufgeführt
Mehr wissen?

Sie möchten mehr über die benutzerfreundlichen Benefits und flexiblen Möglichkeiten von SAP Analysis for Office erfahren? Gerne stellen wir Ihnen das neue Release persönlich im Detail vor.

Nehmen Sie hierfür einfach Kontakt mit uns auf!

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin für Analytics Themen
Theresa Riesterer - SAP Analytics Expert
Theresa Riesterer
SAP-Analytics Expertin

Published by:

Tobias Mirlach

SAP Analytics Consultant

autor:IN

Wie hat Ihnen der Artikel gefallen?

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicken Sie auf einen Stern, um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5.
Anzahl Bewertungen: 2

Bislang keine Stimmen! Seien Sie die erste Person, die diesen Beitrag bewertet!

ANALYTICS LÖSUNGEN

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Analytics Lösungen

INFORMATIONEN

Weitere Informationen

Titelbild On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software Was ist der Unterschied

On-Premise vs. Off-Premise Software: Was ist der Unterschied?

Was ist on- und was ist off-premise Software und was ist der Unterschied? Diese Thematik behandelt der folgende Wissensartikel. Zudem…

Wiki: Eugen im Interview zur BW Bridge

Über eine Brücke musst Du gehen: Funktionen und Überblick der SAP BW Bridge

Die BW Bridge wird von der SAP als Möglichkeit präsentiert, ein System aus einer klassischen on-premise Umgebung in die SAP…

Wiki - The Big 5 - Sustainability Reporting

Die „Big Five“ des Sustainability Reportings

Wer gibt Standards im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung vor? Der folgende Wissensartikel befasst sich mit dieser Frage. Es werden fünf verschiedene…

Wiki 5 Sustainability KPIs

Die 5 wichtigsten Sustainability KPIs

Was sind die 5 wichtigsten Sustainability KPIs? Und warum sind Sustainability KPIs wichtig für Ihr Unternehmen? Inhaltsverzeichnis 1. Wozu werden…

Wiki: Warum benötigt man ein dwh?

Warum benötigt man ein Data Warehouse: Definition, Architektur und Vorteile

Was ist ein Data Warehouse (Kapitel 1), wie ist es aufgebaut (Kapitel 2) und warum brauche ich als Organisation ein…

Wiki Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint

Überblick Carbon Footprint Software

Die Berechnung des Product Carbon Footprints (PCF) kann sehr zeitaufwendig und komplex sein. Daher gibt es immer mehr Software-Tools, die diese Berechnung erleichtern sollen…

Wiki Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint

Wie berechne ich den Carbon Footprint?

Dieser Artikel beantwortet die Frage, wie man einen Carbon Footprint – also einen ökologischen Fussabdruck – berechnet. Dabei werden wichtige…